Tk 15166.18cr supplementary budget passed


17th June, 2019 07:44:37 printer

Tk 15166.18cr supplementary budget passed

 Parliament on Monday passed the supplementary budget of Tk 15166.18 crore for the fiscal 2018-19 to meet the increased expenditures under different ministries and divisions. 

Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal placed the supplementary budget in the House on June 13 along with the national budget. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina moved it today as the Finance Minister is sick.

Different ministries, divisions and institutions sought the additional amount under 34 demands for grant. As many as 217 cut-motions were moved by eight members.

Discussions were held on four cut-motions, including that of Home Ministry, Housing and Public Works Ministry, LGRD and Cooperatives Ministry and Expatriate Welfare and Overseas Employment Ministry.

These cut motions were brought by Jatiya Party MPs Md Rustum Ali Faraji, Rowshan Ara Mannan, Fakhrul Imam, Kazi Firoz Rashid, Leakoat Hossain Khoka and Pir Fazlur Rahman, BNP MP Md Harunur Rashid and Gonoforum MP Mukabbir Khan.

However, those cut-motions were rejected by voice votes.

According to the budget document, an amount of Tk 464, 573 crore was allocated in favour of 62 ministries and divisions for the 2018-19 fiscal.

But in the supplementary budget, allocations for 37 ministries and divisions have been increased to Tk 15,166.19 crore while Tk 37,348.05 crore reduced for 25 ministries and divisions.

As a result, the budget allocations for these ministries and divisions got reduced of Tk 22,032 crore and the total allocation now stands at Tk 442,541 crore.

The Election Commission Secretariat got the highest allocation of Tk 2447.88 crore while the lowest Tk 83.54 lakh to Expatriate Welfare and Overseas Employment Ministry.

The Prime Minister’s Office got Tk 17.02 crore while Cabinet Division Tk 8.07 crore, Supreme Court Tk 33.72 crore, Public Administration Ministry Tk 229.68 crore, Public Service Commission Tk 46.93 crore, Bangladesh Comptroller and Auditor General Office Tk 2.06 crore, Economic Relations Division Tk 428.04 crore, IMED Tk 9.60 crore, Statistics and information Management Division Tk 141.86 crore, Foreign Ministry Tk 151.67 crore, Defence Ministry Tk 1604.64 crore, Law and Judiciary Division 54.12 crore, Public Security Division Tk 674.33 crore, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division Tk 2.88 crore, Secondary and Higher Secondary Division Tk 972.05 crore, Science and Technology Ministry Tk 190.50 crore, Labour and Employment Ministry Tk 44.06 crore, Housing and Public Works Ministry Tk 1182.93 crore, Cultural Affairs Ministry Tk 115.93 crore, Religious Affairs Ministry Tk 326.58 crore, Youth and Sports Ministry Tk 21.08 crore, Local Government Division Tk 1542.84 crore, Rural Development and Cooperatives Division Tk 57.56 crore, Industries Ministry Tk 220.97 crore, Textile and Jute Ministry Tk 876.16 crore, Energy and Mineral Resources Division Tk 305.43 crore, Environment, Forest and Climate Change Ministry Tk 69.37 crore, Water Resources Ministry Tk 586.64 crore, Disaster Management and Relief Ministry Tk 59.13 crore, Shipping Ministry Tk 677.73 crore, CHT Affairs Ministry Tk 51.59 crore, power Division Tk 1276.79 crore, Technical and Madrassa Education Board Division Tk 55.29 crore and Department of Security Services  Tk 674.71 crore.