BJP's Hema Malini wins in Mathura seats

Sun Online Desk

23rd May, 2019 10:34:00 printer

BJP's Hema Malini wins in Mathura seats

BJP's Hema Malini has won against the Congress' Mahesh Pathak from Mathura constituency of Uttar Pradesh (UP) by a record margin in India’s Lok Sabha Polls 2019.

According to Election Commission's (EC) website, the actor-turned politician, BJP leader defeated Pathak by 6,36366 votes. Malini won 6,64,291 votes, while Pathak bagged a mere 27,925 votes.

Narendra Singh of the RLD was also in the fray and won 3,76,399 ballots. RLD is part of the alliance with the Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in the Lok Sabha election 2019.

Hema Malini had won the Mathura seat in 2014 too. She had defeated RLD's Chaudhary by over 3 lakh votes. She was a Rajya Sabha MP between 2003 and 2009.

In 2014 polls, BJP, along with its ally, secured 73 out of the total 80 seats in UP, while the Congress and SP were reduced to two and five seats respectively.


Source: Business Today