PM recasts cabinet

Staff Correspondent

19th May, 2019 10:01:30 printer

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has made a reshuffle in her council of ministers five months after the formation of her government.

This is the first change in the cabinet after Sheikh Hasina’s oath for the third term as prime minister.

Sources in the government said that the premier made the changes to bring more dynamism in some ministries.

The Cabinet Division issued a gazette notification on Sunday, mentioning the changes in the portfolios of some ministers.

Tajul Islam was in charge of the ministry of Local Government and Rural Development and Cooperatives.

Now, he has been appointed to oversee the Local Government Division only.

Swapan Bhattacharjee, state minister for Local Government and Rural Development and Cooperatives, has been asked to serve the Rural Development and Cooperatives Division.

Mustafa Jabbar, in charge of Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology, has been asked to oversee the ministry of Posts and Telecommunications only.

State minister Zunaid Ahmed Palak has got responsibility to run the ministry of Information and Communications Technology.

Murad Hasan, state minister for the ministry of Health and Family Welfare, has been appointed to discharge duty of the ministry of Information.

Sheikh Hasina took oath on January 7 as prime minister and formed the government for the fourth time with a 47-member cabinet.

This is for the first time that the partners of the Awami League-led 14-party alliance have been remained out of the cabinet along with senior AL leaders, including Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Matia Chowdhury and Mohammad Nasim.

The council of ministers comprises 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers.

Awami League has got responsibility of running the state after winning the December 30 general election by a landslide over BNP-dominated Jatiya Oikya Front.

She is going to make a history of running the state for 20 years as prime minister if she completes the new term.

None of the state actors, who had ruled the country in the past, got the opportunity to run the country for the fourth term.