BRTC sells advance tickets from Monday for Eid holidaymakers


19th May, 2019 04:16:57 printer

BRTC sells advance tickets from Monday for Eid holidaymakers


Bangladesh Road Transport Corporation (BRTC) will start selling of advance tickets from Monday for Eid-ul-Fitr holidaymakers.

It will also launch ‘Eid Special Service’ from May 27 to ensure safe journey for the homebound people.

“BRTC will start selling of advance tickets tomorrow for Eid holidaymakers from its different depots, including Motijheel, Joarsahara, Kalayanpur, Gabtoli, Mohammadpur, Mirpur, Jatrabari, Gazipur and Narayanganj,” said BRTC chairman Farid Ahmed Bhuiyan.

Taking to BSS, he said a total of 1,089 buses, including 150 newly imported ones, will be operated as ‘Eid Special Service’ from May 27. Of these buses, 649 buses will be operated from capital Dhaka and 390 from different districts and upazilas, he added.

“We will keep 50 buses in reserve to face any contingency situation,” said the BRTC chairman.

BRTC’s deputy general manager (operation) Moniruzzaman Babu said Motijheel bus depot will operate bus service on Dhaka-Naghpur, Daudkandi, Bajitpur, Khulna, Dinajpur and Netrokona routes.

Rangpur, Panchagarh, Kurigram, Gaibandha, Kushtia, Rajshahi, Sherpur, Jamalpur, Netrokona, Nagorpur, Gobindaganj, Ranishangkar, Thakurgaon and Dinajpur routes will remain under BRTC’s Kalayanpur bus depot and Gabtoli bus deport will operate services on Rangpur, Dinajpur and Thakurgaon routes, he said.

Babu said Bishwaroad-Panchdona, Rangpur, Naogaon, Jaypurhat, Tangail, Mymensingh and Bogura routes will remain under Joarsahara bus depot, Rangpur, Kushtia, Kurigram, Dinajpur and Naogaon routes under Mirpur bus depot while the entire Rangpur route will be under depot Mohammadpur bus depot of BRTC.

Besides, bus services will be operated on Bishwaroad-Panchdona, Kishoreganj, Tangail, Jamalpur, Netrokona, Mymensingh, Rangpur, Dinajpur and Thakurgaon routes from BRTC’s Gazipur bus depot. Jatrabari bus depot will operate services on Dhaka-Gauripur, Tongi-Mawa, Chattogram and Sylhet routes, Narayanganj bus deport on Dhaka-Narayanganj, Dhaka-Meghna upazila, Biswaroad-Panchdona routes, Narsingdi bus deport on Dhaka-Narsingdi and Dhaka-Bhairab routes while Sylhet bus deport will operate services on Sylhet-Tarakanda routes.

BRTC chairman Farid Ahmed Bhuiyan urged Eid holidaymakers to travel by buses of ‘BRTC Special Service’ and said 50 buses will be kept ready at different BRTC depots in Dhaka to offer services to people from June 3.

“We will keep these buses standby at Mirpur bus depot, in front of Nandanpark, Kalayanpur bus depot, Chadra Mor, Motijheel bus depot, Joarsahara bus depot, Mohammadpur bus depot, Hemayetpur bus depot and Mahakhali bus depot to provide service to people,” said Farid Ahmed Bhuiyan.

People will get all necessary information on BRTC website: . For tickets and other travel information BTRC has requested people to contact the cell-phone numbers: Motijheel Depot-01712281121, Kalayanpur Depot-01711578744, Gabtoli Depot-01818485388, Joarsahara Depot-01619457245, Mirpur Depot-01740098888, Mohammadpur Depot- 01712224038, Gazipur Depot-01817782866, Jatrabari Depot-01711391514, Narayanganj Depot-01716684144, Cumilla Depot-01758880011 and Narsingdi Depot-01553349567.

During the last Eid-ul-Fitr, BRTC operated a total of 904 buses, including 475 from Dhaka and 375 on different routes outside the capital.