BNP proposes Manna for Bogura by-polls

Staff Correspondent

17th May, 2019 10:41:37 printer

BNP has proposed Nagorik Oikya convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna to contest in by-polls to Bogura 6 constituency, which fell vacant as the seat’s elected representative BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take oath as the MP.

The by-polls will be held on June 24, according to a schedule announced by the Election Commission on May 8.

Sources in BNP said the party high command has proposed Mahmudur Rahman Manna this week to join the party and contest in the by-polls as a party candidate.   

But Manna didn’t pay heed to the proposal, sources at Nagorik Oikya said.

Shahidullah Kaiser, coordinator of Nagorik Oikya, told the daily sun that the matter was discussed. “Some of BNP leaders proposed Mahmudur Rahman Manna to join the party and to contest in the by-polls. But he is not interested.”

BNP insiders said the party wants to nominate an influential candidate who is acceptable to all, in a bid to avoid any further controversy. If Manna does not accept the proposal, BNP will then nominate any one of its leaders, the sources added.

The names of standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Shamsuzzaman Dudu, Asaduzzaman Ripon and Ruhul Kabir Rizvi came are being discussed, party sources said.

Talking to the daily sun, a senior leader of BNP said the party wanted Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir as the party candidate for the by-election but he is not interested.

At a meeting of the 20-party alliance May 13, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir said his party has decided to contest the by-polls to Bogura-6 and they will nominate a candidate for women reserved seats.

Out of total six, five lawmakers-elect of the BNP took the oath and joined parliament but Mirza Fakhrul refrained from taking oath for what he said was a “strategic decision.”

BNP officially did not declare yet about their candidate for the by-polls of Bogura 6 and reserved seat for women.

BNP won six seats in the December 30, 2018, general election. Although BNP termed the 11th parliamentary election “full of irregularities”, five of its parliamentarians except Mirza Fakhrul have taken the oath and joined parliament.

The parliamentary seat was declared vacant on April 30 as Mirza Fakhrul failed to take oath as MP after being elected from the constituency in the 11th parliamentary election.

According to the by-poll schedule, the deadline for submission of nomination paper is May 23, while the date for scrutinising nomination paper is May 27 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 3, EC sources said.