Nurul guides Sk Jamal to victory in DPL

Abahani, Rupganj keep winning streak

Sports Correspondent

19th April, 2019 10:41:17 printer

Nurul guides Sk Jamal
to victory in DPL

Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd captain Nurul Hasan holds the man of the match award after their Dhaka Premier League match against Mohammedan Sporting Club at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah on Friday.

Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd registered convincing victory over Mohammedan Sporting Club on Friday’s game in the third round Super League match of the ongoing Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League Abahani Limited, Legends of Rupganj won against Prime Bank Cricket Club and Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club in the respective clashes of the day.

Sheikh Jamal defeated Mohammedan by seven wickets at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.

Sheikh Jamal won the toss and bowled first. They restricted Mohammedan to 159 all-out in 44.4 overs.

Tushar Imran hit 56 for Mohammedan but the other batsmen displayed disappointing performance in the middle. Liton Das and Mohammad Ashraful posted 26 and 21 respectively as well.

For Sheikh Jamal, leg-spinner Tanbir Hayder bagged four wickets conceding 16 runs while Khaled Ahmed took two wickets for the team.

In reply, Imtiaz Hossain (54) and Nurul Hasan (83) hit fifties and sealed the victory for their team.

Jamal captain Nurul Hasan was adjudged the man of the match for his knock of 83.

In the other DPL match of the day, Defending champions Abahani won against Prime Bank Cricket Club by six wickets at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the capital.

Abahani won the toss and sent Prime Bank to bat first. They accumulated 226 all-out in 49.3 overs.

They lost the first wicket before posting anything on the board when Anamul Haque, the captain of Prime Bank, fell in the first ball of the innings. Prime Bank lost the second wicket in seven runs.

They lost four more wickets before reaching the 100 runs mark. However, two superb knocks from Alok Kapali (80) and Nayeem Hasan (51) guided them to 226.

For Abahani, all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin bagged five wickets conceding 32 runs in 9.1 overs. It was his second five-wicket haul in three matches.

Apart from Saifuddin, Mashrafe Mortaza and Soumya Sarkar were successful with the ball as both of them took two wickets each.

While replying, Abahani chased the target in 44.4 overs. They scored 228 for 4 with the help of Wasim Jaffer (64) and Najmul Hossain Shanto (77).

However, Soumya, who recently made it to the World Cup squad of the Tigers, failed to impress. In this match, he fell for a duck in two balls.

Mohammad Saifuddin was awarded the man of the match for his five-wicket haul.

Meanwhile, the match between Legends of Rupganj and Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club at Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan Ground-4 in Savar, Rupganj won by seven wickets.

Prime Doleshwar won the toss and batted first but failed to live up to the expectation as they tumbled for 205 all-out in 45 overs.

Shykat Ali (72), Saif Hassan (37) and Taibur Rahman (27) showed some strength against Ruganj’s bowling attack. The other batsmen of Doleshwar disappointed.

For Rupganj, Taskin Ahmed took four wickets conceding 54 runs. The right-arm pacer was recently overlooked in the World Cup squad of the Tigers which made him cry.

Besides, Mohammad Shahid bagged three wickets while Rishi Dhawan took two for Rupganj.

In reply, Rupganj lost the first wicket without any run on the board. However, Shahriar Nafees smashed his ninth List-A ton and guided the team to seal the game. Nafees ended with unbeaten 113 with 11 fours and one six. Apart from him, Mehedi Maruf posted 41 and Naeem Islam remained unbeaten on 32.

Rupganj ended with 208 for three wickets and won the game by seven wickets. Winning this game, Rupganj secured 24 points which is two more than that of defending champions Abahani.

Shahriar Nafees was pronounced the man of the match for his brilliant hundred.