MS Dhoni fined after angry reaction to umpire's decision | 2019-04-12 | daily-sun.com

MS Dhoni fined after angry reaction to umpire's decision

Cricbuzz

12th April, 2019 09:43:31 printer

MS Dhoni fined after angry reaction to umpire's decision

A no-ball decision that was revoked by square-leg umpire Bruce Oxenford drew an angry reaction from Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni, who walked into the playing arena to seek clarification from the two standing umpires during the tense finish to the game against Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Thursday (April 12).

He was subsequently fined 50% of his match fee.

"MS Dhoni, the Chennai Super Kings captain, was fined 50 percent of his match fees for breaching the Indian Premier League's Code of Conduct during his team's match against Rajasthan Royals at Jaipur. Dhoni admitted to the Level 2 offence 2.20 of the IPL's Code of Conduct and accepted the sanction," said a media release from IPL.

Article 2.20 of the IPL's Code of Conduct refers to actions that are contrary to the spirit of the game. The 50% fine levied on Dhoni is the minimum sanction for a Level 2 offence for the first time. The statement from IPL refrained from detailing the specifics for which Dhoni had been fined.

The CSK skipper was an animated participant in an incident that occurred following what was the fourth ball of the final over bowled by Ben Stokes with CSK needing 8 from 3. Stokes's attempted slower ball turned into a full toss and was promptly called a no-ball by straight umpire Ulhas Gandhe.

With CSK batsmen Mitchell Santner and Ravindra Jadeja running two, the equation should have reduced to 5 off 3 with a free-hit to follow, but Oxenford, the umpire at square leg, overruled the original decision, drawing a furious response from the CSK dugout.

Dhoni walked into the playing area to talk to the umpires and was pictured gesticulating about the original no-ball call. The umpires, without referring to the third-umpire, decreed that the full-toss would not have been waist-high and left CSK needing six off two. However, Mitchell Santner hit a last-ball six to seal the game in his side's favour.

"The skipper coming from the dugout onto the pitch...cannot happen," opined former England captain Michael Vaughan on Cricbuzz LIVE. "I know he's MS Dhoni, I know he can do what he wants in this country. But you're not allowed to leave the dugout as a skipper and point your finger at the umpire out in the middle.

"Sorry, that is a no-no. You cannot be sending out that message, you can't be setting that example as captain. Sometimes things don't go your way, you go sit in that dugout and give it a little bit of that," said Vaughan with a mock gesture of disbelief.

"But you can't storm on the pitch," added Vaughan with a chuckle. "I know MS you're a legend but you can't storm on the pitch."

Incidentally, umpire Gandhe was involved in a similar incident of dissent during the 2018 Syed Mushtaq Ali fixture between Karnataka and Hyderabad. Rayudu, the then Hyderabad captain, was slapped with a two-match suspension after delaying the start of the chase by nine minutes after Karnataka were awarded two additional runs for a boundary not given during their innings.


Top