Five get 'Bishwa Bangali Puraskar-2019'

Sun Online Desk

31st March, 2019 04:09:13 printer

Five get 'Bishwa Bangali Puraskar-2019'

Bishwa Bangali Sangha (BBS) is all set to honour five renowned individuals from Bangladesh and India with Bishwa Bangali Puraskar 2019 for their contributions in respective fields.


BBS will honour renowned local academic, author and critic Dhaka University professor emeritus professor Serajul Islam Choudhury, founder of Bishwa Sahitya Kendra Professor Abdullah Abu Sayeed and three Indian Bengalis namely Dr Subhas Chandra Mukhopadhyay, poet Partha Basu and Professor Tapodhir Bhattacharjee with the award at a programme held in 2020, said organisers at a press conference held at Sangskriti Bikash Kendra at Paribagh in Dhaka on Saturday.


‘We will be giving the awards for the first time. We will hand over the awards in 2020 marking the country’s founding president Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s 100th birth anniversary. Each recipient will get prize money, crest and a certificate,’ said Raju Ahmed Mamun, Bishwa Bangali Sangha president.


Former secretary general of Bangladesh Group Theatre Federation Akhtaruzzaman announced the names of award recipients and BBS member Mujib Mahbub delivered the welcome speech at the programme.