4th phase polls in 107 upazilas underway

Sun Online Desk

31st March, 2019 08:22:25 printer

4th phase polls in 107 upazilas underway

Voters are exercising their franchise to elect their representatives in 107 upazilas, report UNB.


Balloting started at 8am on Sunday in the 4th phase of the local body elections. It will continue until 4pm without any break.


More than 25.5 million voters are expected to cast votes.


In this phase, 351 chairman, 533 vice-chairman and 406 woman vice-chairman candidates are contesting. But 39 chairman, 22 vice-chairman and 27 woman vice-chairman contestants have already been elected unopposed.


The Election Commission announced polls schedule for 122 upazilas but all candidates in a number of upazilas have already been elected uncontested. These upazilas do not require balloting. Polls to some other upazilas were postponed on various grounds.


This time, electronic voting machines will be used in Cox's Bazar Sadar, Patuakhali  Sadar, Mymensingh Sadar, Bagerhat Sadar, Munshiganj Sadar and Feni Sadar.


A security team comprising of 14-16 members drawn from police, Ansar and VDP will guard each polling station.


The first three phases of the upazila elections were held on March 10, 18 and 24 last.