AL ministers, lawmakers in trouble for disobedience

Shawkat Ali Khan

30th March, 2019 10:30:16 printer

Some ruling Awami League ministers, lawmakers and influential leaders are in  trouble for disobeying the party decision by standing against the party-nominated candidates in the ongoing Upazila Parishad polls.

The ministers, MPs and leaders are supposed to work for the party-nominated candidates to ensure victory, but some of them have been working for the dissidents to ensure the defeat of the boat symbol.

Many chairmen hopefuls of the ruling party have suffered defeat in the ongoing UZ polls due to the negative roles of this quarter.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has directed the concerned leaders for making a report on the disobedient men and punish them after the issue caused a hue and cry among the country’s oldest political party.

“Make a report of those ministers, lawmakers and leaders who are not working in favour of the party-nominated candidates and take organizational action against them,” the premier, whi also the AL president, instructed during a meeting of the presidium body on Friday.

Emerging from the meeting, a presidium member told daily sun that the premier directed the joint general secretaries and organising   secretaries to prepare a report over the recently held upazila elections for taking steps against the rule violators.

“They have to make reports over Upazila elections inducting those names of ministers, lawmaker and party activists who have worked against the party nominated candidates breaching the party discipline,” said the leader wishing not to be named.

“Stern action will be taken against those found guilty,” the leader added.

As per a provision of the local government law, the chairman hopefuls of registered political parties will contest the polls using the party symbols.

Insiders say that ruling party candidates have faced defeat in many upazilas due to the negative roles of the ministers and lawmakers.

Out of eight upazila in Sunamganj, ruling party faced defeat in four upazilas. Three dissidents of the Awami League and one independent candidate, loyal to Bangladesh Nationalist Party, won those polls.

The BNP has been boycotting the polls but some of its leaders are contesting the polls, ignoring the party’s stance.

Out of eight upazilas in Habiganj, four dissidents won the polls. Out of 16 upazilas in Sylhet, eight rebels came out victorious.

Similar cases were also reported many other districts including Cumilla, Brahmanbaria, Gazipur, Natore, Munshiganj, Tangail, Mymensingh, Khulna and Narayanganj.