PM to hand over Independence Award today

Sun Online Desk

25th March, 2019 10:00:54 printer

PM to hand over Independence Award today

The ‘Swadhinata Purashkar-2019’ (Independence Award) will be presented to 12 distinguished persons and an organisation  on Monday in recognition of their glorious and outstanding contribution to their respective fields.


Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the award, the highest civilian honour of the country, to them at a function at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre in the morning on the eve of the Independence Day.


On March 10, the government declared the names of 12 noted persons and an organisation for this year’s Swadhinata Purashkar.


Those nominated for the award are: martyred intellectual Mufazzal Haider Chowdhury (posthumous), martyred ATM Zafar Alam (posthumous), AKM Mozammel Haque, Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Dr Kazi Misbahun Nahar, Abdul Khalek (posthumous) and Professor Mohammad Khaled (posthumous) in independence and Liberation War, Brigadier General Dr Nurun Nahar Fatema Begum in medical science, Dr Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad in social service, Murtaza Bashir in culture, Hasan Azizul Haque in literature, Professor Dr Hasina Khan in research and training and Bangladesh Institute of Nuclear Agriculture (BINA) in science and technology.