BNP expels 17 more leaders for contesting UZ polls

Sun Online Desk

22nd March, 2019 10:59:51 printer

BNP expels 17 more leaders for contesting UZ polls

BNP has expelled 17 more of its grassroots leaders for their move to contest the upcoming upazila elections violating the party's decision.


A BNP press release signed by its assistant office secretary Belal Ahmed on Thursday said 17 party leaders in seven districts –Chapainawabganj, Brahmanbaria, Mymensingh, Magura, Kushtia  Khulna and Rangamati-- were also stripped off their primary memberships.


They are Chapainawabganj district unit BNP joint secretary Anwarul Islam, Brahmanbaria’s Ashuganj upazila joint secretary Selim Parvez, Nabinagar Mohila affairs secretary Muchena Begum, Sarail joint secretary Nuruzzaman Laskar Topu, its member Shamima Akhter, Mymensingh district unit members Nasima Akhter Rubi, Monwara Begum, Kamruzzaman Kiron, Dhobaura upazila party member M Fazlul Haque, Magura district unit member Jahangir Alam Khan Bachchu, Sreepur upazila unit member Nargis Sultana, Kushtia’s Bheramara upazila joint secretary Shahjahan Ali, its member Anwarul Azim Babu, women affairs secretary Indonesia, Khulna district unit adviser Molla Mahbubur Rahman, Dumuria unit member Gazi Abdul Halim and Rangamati upazila BNP member Arjum Moni Chakma.


With these fresh ones, the party has so far expelled around 170 grassroots leaders over the last one month for joining the upazila elections as independent candidates breaching the party’s decision.



Source: UNB