Second-phase UZ polls today | 2019-03-18 |

Second-phase UZ polls today

Staff Correspondent

17th March, 2019 11:00:22 printer

Voting in the second phase of the country’s first-ever partisan Upazila Parishad (UZ) polls will be held today.

Sources at the Election Commission (EC) said a total of 116 upazilas of 16 districts under Rangpur, Rajshahi, Sylhet and Chattogram divisions will go to election on the day.

Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) is boycotting the upazila polls.

A total of 377 candidates are vying for the posts of chairmen while 548 for vice-chairmen and 400 for reserved vice-chairmen in the second-phase of upazila polls. Campaigns for the elections ended on Saturday midnight.

Twenty-three chairmen, 13 vice-chairmen and 12 reserved vice-chairmen candidates have already been elected unopposed.

The polling will start at 8:00am and continue until 4:00pm without any break. The police administration has taken adequate security measures to avert any untoward incident.

A total of 1,79,09,006 voters are expected to exercise their franchise this time in 7,039 polling centres.

Earlier, the EC announced that elections to 129 upazilas would be held in the second phase, but polls in seven upazilas have been postponed while six others shifted to other phases, said an EC official.

All election materials have been sent to districts and they were being distributed to the presiding officers on Sunday.

Additional members of police, Rapid Action Battalion (RAB), Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB), Ansar-VDP, coastguard and APBn were deployed on Saturday to ensure security during the election in those upazilas.

The EC has banned showing and carrying licensed arms seven days ahead of the election.

Two to three platoons of BGB, RAB and coastguard were deployed as striking force in the electoral areas from Saturday.

To maintain the law and order, 14 members of police, Ansar and VDP will be deployed in every general centre while 15 at every risky and special vote centres on the day of election.

Executive and judicial magistrates will also be on duty during the polls to maintain the electoral code of conduct.

The EC imposed a ban on riding motorcycles and driving motorised vehicles in the electoral areas. Restrictions on motorbikes also came into effect from Saturday.

The restriction will be applicable to motorised three-wheelers, auto-rickshaws, motorbikes, cabs, microbuses, jeeps, pickups, private cars, buses, trucks, easy-bikes and locally-manufactured vehicles.

The restriction on movement of motorcycles will be relaxed on the inter-district roads, highways and connecting roads.