BCL candidates reign in Surja Sen Hall too

Sun Online Desk

11th March, 2019 09:13:51 printer

BCL candidates reign in Surja Sen Hall too

Candidates from Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) panel got a clean majority in Surja Sen Hall union election on Monday.


Out of 13 posts, BCL swept 11 posts including Vice President and General Secretary, while 2 posts were captured by independent candidates.


After counting, the returning officer on this evening declared Marium Jahan Khan Sohan unofficially elected as Vice President (VP) and Siam Raham General Secretary (GS). Both are the candidate from BCL Panel of the Surja Sen hall union.


Meanwhile, all panels except that of Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) on Monday boycotted the election to Dhaka University Central Students' Union (DUCSU) and its hall unions, bringing allegations of vote rigging.


Leaders of the panels -- Left alliance, Quota reform panel and Independent panel -- announced their decision from a press briefing at Madhur Canteen on the campus at Monday noon.