Mokabbir not taking take oath Thursday unlike Mansur | 2019-03-06 |

Mokabbir not taking take oath Thursday unlike Mansur


6th March, 2019 07:18:32 printer

Mokabbir not taking take oath Thursday unlike Mansur

Gano Forum's MP-elect Mokabbir Khan (Sylhet-2) is not going to take oath on Thursday to join the 11th parliament due to unavoidable reason.


However, another MP-elect, Sultan Mohammad Mansur, (Moulvibazar-2) will be sworn in at 11am as per the schedule fixed by Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury.


“Mokabbir Khan, who elected MP from Sylhet-2 with Gano Forum’s election symbol ‘Rising Sun’ will not take oath tomorrow (Thursday) for an unavoidable reason,” said a Gano Forum press release on Wednesday.


Contacted, Mokabbir told media that their party’s presidium member at a meeting, in presence of Dr Kamal Hossain, today decided to defer schedule for his oath taking ceremony for a few days.


He said a new schedule will be declared later.


Mokabbir claimed that most presidium members of their party, including Dr Kamal Hossain, want him to take oath as the MP.


“Our leaders will now discuss the issue with the partners of the Jatiya Oikya Front, including BNP, and then announce the fresh schedule for taking oath,” he said.


Sultan Mohammad Mansur said he will take oath at 11am tomorrow. “I didn’t change my mind and schedule over taking oath. So, I’m going to be sworn in as per the schedule.”


Earlier on March 3, both the MPs-elect sent separate letters to the Speaker requesting her to arrange their oath-taking ceremony on March 7.


Later, the Speaker set 11am on Thursday for administrating the oath.


Mansur was elected MP from Moulvibazar-2 seat contesting the December-30 election as a Gano Forum candidate under Jatiya Oikya Front platform with BNP's electoral symbol 'Sheaf of Paddy' while Mokabbir from Sylhet-2 constituency with Gano Forum's election symbol 'Rising Sun'.


BNP along with Gano Forum and some other parties joined the December-30 election in alliance under the banner of Jatiya Oikya Front. BNP bagged six seats while Gano Forum two in the election.


The alliance turned down the election results bringing the allegation of 'massive vote robbery' and demanded reelection.


The first session of the new parliament began on January 30 without the participation of the eight MPs-elect of Oikya Front.