19 elected unopposed in 1st phase upazila polls

Staff Correspondent

21st February, 2019 02:22:33 printer

A total of 19 candidates, including seven for chairmen posts, were elected unopposed in the first phase of upazila parishad elections.

The designated returning officers declared them elected on Wednesday as the deadline for withdrawal of candidature expired on Tuesday.

EC assistant secretary Mohammad Ashfaqur Rahman disclosed this on Wednesday. Of the candidates, seven chairmen, seven reserved vice-chairmen and five vice-chairmen were elected uncontested.