All aspirants for women’s reserved seat declared elected

Sun Online Desk

17th February, 2019 11:54:44 printer

All aspirants for women’s reserved seat declared elected

All of the 49 candidates, who submitted nomination papers for women reserved seats in the 11th Jatiya Sangsad, have been elected Members of Parliament (MPs) uncontested.


Election Commission (EC) Joint Secretary and Returning Officer of the polls Abul Kashem made the announcement at the media centre of Nirbachan Bhaban in the city’s Agargaon area on Sunday afternoon.


Kashem said all of the aspirants for the women reserved seats have been declared elected as none of them withdrew their candidature within stipulated time till 5 pm on Saturday.


“List of the names of the MPs-elect will be sent to the government BG Press by today. And gazette notification will be published by today or tomorrow in this regard,” he said.


The reserved seats for women are allocated to political parties in proportion with their number of seats in parliament. Among the MPs-elect, 43 are from Awami League, four from Jatiya Party, one independent candidate and one from Workers Party of Bangladesh.


BNP-led Oikyafront could get one but none submitted nomination paper from the alliance, he added.


The election to the women reserved seats was scheduled for March 4.