p India beat New Zealand by seven wickets in second T20 | 2019-02-08

India beat New Zealand by seven wickets in second T20


8th February, 2019 03:40:27 printer

India beat New Zealand by seven wickets in second T20

India defeated New Zealand by seven wickets in the second Twenty20 international at Auckland's Eden park on Friday to level the series at 1-1.


New Zealand set India a modest total of 159 and the tourists overhauled it in 18.5 overs, finishing at 162 for three as captain Rohit Sharma top-scored on 50.


Indian paceman Krunal Pandya was man of the match, taking three for 28, while New Zealand's best performer Colin de Grandhomme scored his first T20 half century.


Final scoreboard in the second Twenty 20 between New Zealand and India at Eden Park in Auckland on Friday:

New Zealand

T. Seifert c Dhoni b Kumar 12

C. Munro c Sharma b K.Pandya 12

K. Williamson lbw K.Pandya 20

D. Mitchell lbw K.Pandya 1

R. Taylor run out (Shankar) 42

C. de Grandhomme c Sharma b H.Pandya 50

M. Santner b Ahmed 7

S. Kuggeleijn not out 2

T. Southee b Ahmed 3

Extras: (lb 1, wd 8) 9

Total: (for 8 wickets; 20 overs) 158

Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Seifert), 2-41 (Munro), 3-43 (Mitchell), 4-50 (Williamson), 5-127 (de Grandhomme), 6-153 (Taylor), 7-154 (Santner), 8-158 (Southee)

Bowling: Kumar 4-0-29-1 (3w), Ahmed 4-0-27-2, H. Pandya 4-0-36-1 (4w), K. Pandya 4-0-28-3, Chahal 4-0-37-0 (1w)


R. Sharma c Southee b Sodhi 50

S. Dhawan c de Grandhomme b Ferguson 30

R. Pant not out 40

V. Shankar c Southee b Mitchell 14

MS Dhoni not out 20

Extras: (lb 1, wd 5, b 2) 8

Total: (for 3 wickets; 18.5 overs) 162

Fall of wickets: 1-79 (Sharma), 2-88 (Dhawan), 3-118 (Shankar)

Bowling: Southee 4-0-34-0 (1w), Kuggeleijn 3.5-0-32-0 (1w), Ferguson 4-0-31-1 (1w), Santner 2-0-16-0, Sodhi 4-0-31-0 (2w), Mitchell 1-0-15-1

Toss: New Zealand

Result: India win by seven wickets

Series: Three-match series level 1-1

Umpires: Wayne Knights (NZL), Chris Brown (NZL)

TV Umpire: Shaun Haig (NZL)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)