Rangpur Riders set Dhaka Dynamites to chase 143 | 2019-02-06

Rangpur Riders set Dhaka Dynamites to chase 143

Sun Online Desk

6th February, 2019 08:35:44 printer

Rangpur Riders set Dhaka Dynamites to chase 143

Rangpur Riders Plarers Bopara & Mithun. Photo: Reaz Ahmed Sumon

Rangpur Riders scored 142 against Dhaka Dynamites in the second qualifiers of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Wednesday.


The Riders flattered to deceive as two partnerships of note were followed by dramatic collapses. The largely off-colour Chris Gayle got going, but his opening partner Nadif Chowdhury was the enforcer, as he struck three consecutive sixes off Shuvagata Hom before holing out in the deep. The first slide started thereafter, as Rubel struck two colossal blows next over, Gayle nicked out and the season's top-scorer Rossow knocked over by a short one that took him by surprise, as the Dynamites completed a team hat-trick.


Mohammad Mithun and Ravi Bopara added 64 for the fourth-wicket in quick time to ignite hopes of a Riders revival but the wicket of Mithun against the run of play signposted a disappointing and swift end, notwithstanding Bopara's 43-ball 49.


Earlier, Dhaka Dynamites has won the toss and elected to bowl first.


Two changes for the Riders. Sohag Gazi and Mehedi Maruf go out for Nadif Chowdhury and Nazmul Islam.


The match is very important for both the sides as the winners will move to the final of the tournament.


Riders XI: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Mohammad Mithun (wk), Nahidul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Farhad Reza, Nazmul Islam, Nadif Chowdhury, Chris Gayle, Ravi Bopara, Rilee Rossouw, Benny Howell


Dynamites XI: Shakib Al Hasan, Nurul Hasan (wk), Rubel Hossain, Shuvagata Hom, Rony Talukdar, Qazi Onik, Mahmudul Hasan, Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Upul Tharanga