p Victorians opt to bowl first against Sixers | 2019-01-15

Victorians opt to bowl first against Sixers

Sun Online Desk

15th January, 2019 06:56:42 printer

Victorians opt to bowl first against Sixers

Former Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) champions Comilla Victorians won the toss and opted to bowl first against Sylhet Sixers at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.


Victorians played four matches in BPL so far and managed to win two of them against Sixers and Rajshahi Kings. Sixers, on the other hand, won one of their three matches this season.


Before coming to this match, Victorians suffered a big blow as they lost their captain Steve Smith to a hand injury. Smith has been ruled out of action for at least six weeks.


Victorians suffered another blow when Evin Lewis, their West Indian recruit, sustained a hamstring injury in the last match against Chittagong Vikings. But they got a lifeline in form of Thisara Perera. The former Sri Lankan captain joined them in the previous match and hit the fastest fifty of the season.


Comilla Victorians (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal, Shamsur Rahman, Anamul Haque(w), Imrul Kayes(c), Shahid Afridi, Thisara Perera, Liam Dawson, Mohammad Saifuddin, Wahab Riaz, Mahedi Hasan, Ziaur Rahman


Sylhet Sixers (Playing XI): David Warner(c), Liton Das(w), Andre Fletcher, Afif Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Nicholas Pooran, Alok Kapali, Sohail Tanvir, Nabil Samad, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain