Rangpur Riders win toss, opt to field against Rajshahi Kings

Sun Online Desk

13th January, 2019 01:15:42 printer

Rangpur Riders win toss, opt to field against Rajshahi Kings

Photo: Reaz Ahmed Sumon

Defending champions of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Rangpur Riders won the toss and opted to bowl first against Rajshahi Kings on Sunday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the fifth encounter of the contest.


Rangpur won two of their previous four matches, and in another two, they came up losing to Chittagong Vikings and Dhaka Dynamites. In the most recent match, they were beaten by the newcomer off-spinner Alis Al Islam who recorded a hat-trick and ended the match by taking four wickets.


On the other hand, Rajshahi Kings registered only a win in their three previous matches. The only win of them came against Khulna Titans who are yet to find a win in the ongoing BPL in spite of playing four matches so far.


Rajshahi Kings (Playing XI): Mominul Haque, Mehidy Hasan(c), Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Hafeez, Ryan ten Doeschate, Zakir Hasan(w), Laurie Evans, Arafat Sunny, Kamrul Islam, Isuru Udana, Mustafizur Rahman


Rangpur Riders (Playing XI): Chris Gayle, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Mithun(w), Ravi Bopara, Benny Howell, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Nahidul Islam, Farhad Reza, Sohag Gazi, Shafiul Islam, Nazmul Islam