BNP urges Election Commission to allocate ‘Sheaf of Paddy’ for 26 alliance candidates | 2018-12-09 |

BNP urges Election Commission to allocate ‘Sheaf of Paddy’ for 26 alliance candidates


9th December, 2018 08:04:18 printer

BNP urges Election Commission to allocate ‘Sheaf of Paddy’ for 26 alliance candidates

Apart from BNP’s own contestants, 26 candidates of eight registered political parties under Jatiya Oikya Front and 20-party alliance are going to contest the December-30 general election with its electoral symbol 'Sheaf of Paddy’.


BNP sent a letter attached with the list of the 26 candidates to the Election Commission (EC) on Sunday afternoon urging it to allocate the 'Sheaf of Paddy’ for them.


Of the 26 candidates, seven are from Dr Kamal Hossain-led Gano Forum, while four each from Oli Ahmed-led Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), ASM Abdur Rob-led Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) and Kader Siddiqui-led Krishak Sramik Janata League (KSJL), three from Jamiat-e Ulema-e-Islam, two from Khelafat Majlish, and one each from Syed Muhammad Ibrahim-led Bangladesh Kalyan Party and Andaleeve Rahman Partha-led Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP).


Though four candidates of his party will be there in the election race with BNP’s symbol, LDP chairman Col (retd) Oli Ahmed has chosen to use his own party symbol 'Umbrella' in Chattogram-14 seat.


The seven Gano Forum candidates are Subrata Chowdhury (Dhaka-6), Mostofa Mohsin Montu (Dhaka-7), Sultan Mohammed Mansur Ahmed (Moulvibazar-2), Reza Kibria (Habiganj-1), AHM Khalequzzaman (Mymensingh-8), AMSA Amin (Kurigram-2) and Prof Abu Sayeed (Pabna-1).


The four JSD candidates are Abdur Rob (Laxmipur-4), Abdul Malek Ratan (Cumilla-4), Shahiduddin Mahmud Swapan (Dhaka-18) and Prof Dr Muhammad Saiful Islam (Kishoreganj-3).


The four KSJL candidates are Kader Siddiqui’s daughter Kuri Siddiqui (Tangail-8), Liakat Ali (Tangail-4), Iqbal Siddiqui (Gazipur-3) and Monzurul Islam Natore-1.


Gano Forum, JSD (Rob) and KSJL are the components of BNP’s alliance Jatiya Oikya Front. Another component of the alliance Nagorik Oikya, having no registration with the (EC), is also going to contest the election with Sheaf of Paddy. The party leaders claimed that BNP nominated their five candidates. 


LDP, Jamiat-e Ulema-e-Islam, Khelafat Majlish, BJP and Kalyan party are the components of the BNP-led 20-party alliance. Candidates of some other unregistered political parties of the alliance, including Jamaat, National People's Party (NPP) and Peoples 'Party of Bangladesh, will also contest the election with the election symbol of BNP.


The four LDP contenders are Syed Mahmud Morshed (Mymensingh-10), Redwan Ahmed (Cumilla-7), M Shahadat Hossain (Lakshmipur-1) and Nurul Alam (Chattogram-7).


The three Jamiat-e Ulema-e-Islam candidates who will be there in the election with BNP’s symbol are Monir Hossain (Narayanganj-4), Md Shahinur Pasha Chowdhury (Sunamganj-3) and Ubaidullah Faruk (Sylhet-5).


The two Khelafat Majlish candidates are Abdul Basit Azad (Habiganj-2) and Ahmed Abdul Kader (Habiganj-4).


BJP candidate chairman Andaleeve Rahman Partha will contest from Dhaka-17 while Kalyan Party chairman Syed Muhammad Ibrahim from Chattogram-5 with Sheaf of Paddy.