Elias, Kabir elected DRU president, secretary

Staff Correspondent

30th November, 2018 09:47:57 printer

Elias, Kabir elected DRU president, secretary

Elias Hossain of SA Television and Kabir Ahmed Khan of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) have been elected as president and general secretary of Dhaka Reporters Unity respectively.


DRU members on Friday gave their franchise to elect the executive committee for 2019 term. The voting was held at DRU’s Segunbagicha office in the capital.


Some 1148, among 1477, voters cast their votes in the election held at the DRU office.


For the president post, Elias bagged 641 votes while his nearest contestant Monir Hossain Liton of Ekattor TV got 496 votes.


Kabir elected general secretary bagging 450 votes while his nearest contender Reaz Chowdhury of Asianmail24.com secured 440 votes.


Khondoker Kaosar Hossain was elected as vice-president who bagged 416 votes while Jamiul Ahsan Sipu of Daily Ittefaq became joint secretary unopposed.


Other elected office bearers are financial secretary Ziaul Haque Sabju (808 votes), organising secretary Afzal Bari (715 votes), office secretary Md Jehad Hossain Chowdhury (unopposed), women affairs secretary Sajida Islam Parul (644 votes), publicity and publications secretary SK Mahmud Riyat (unopposed), training and research secretary Abdul Hai Tuhin (567 votes), sports secretary Shafiqul Islam Shamim  (566 votes), cultural secretary Emdadul Haque Khan (554 votes), entertainment secretary HM Aktar (unopposed) and welfare secretary Kawsar Azam (Unopposed).


Executive members are Mohiuddin (701 votes), Khaled Saifullah (votes 646), BM Nur Alam (580) Mohammad Maksudul Hasan (564 votes), Mohammad Naimuddin (564 votes), Rashedul Haque (votes 530) and Shahabuddin Mahtab (votes 432).