Zimbabwe set Tigers to chase challenging 287 to win

Sun Online Desk

26th October, 2018 06:34:33 printer

Zimbabwe set Tigers to chase challenging 287 to win

Zimbabwe cricketer Sean Williams (R) plays a shot as Bangladeshi wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim (L) looks on . AFP Photo

Zimbabwe finished with 286 for 5 against Bangladesh in the third game of the three-match ODI series at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Friday.


A great recovery by Zimbabwe after they were 7 for 2 at the end of five overs. It started with Brendan Taylor and Sean Williams leading a recovery. Taylor was dismissed for 75 but Williams carried on and brought up his highest ODI score of 129 off 143 balls. He got good support from Sikandar Raza (40) and Peter Moor (28) as Zimbabwe finished with 286 for 5.


Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza opted to bat first after winning the toss.


Spinner Nazmul Islam removed an appealingly a formidable third partnership by dismissing Brendon Taylor who hit 75 off 72 balls featuring eight boundaries and three six before being caught behind by Mushfiqur Rahim on 138/3 in 26.4 overs.


After the dismissal of Taylor, Sean Williams continued till the end, firing 10 boundaries and one six in his innings of 143 balls, and shared 84 off 15.3 overs and a quick 62 off 7.1 overs in the next two partnership stands with Sikandar Raza [40 off 51b; 2x4; 1x6] and Peter Moor [28 off 21b; 2x6].


It was a bright start from the hosts in the third ODI as pace bowler Mohammed Saifuddin bowled out Cephas Zhuwao for duck in his third delivery of the inning's second over for Bangladesh's first breakthrough before left-handed pacer Abu Hider Rony bowled out opener-cum-skipper Hamilton Masakadza just after a six-ball gap, keeping the visitors on the same collection in 2.4 overs.


Nazmul Islam got two wickets for 58 runs in eight overs while Abu Hider [1/39] and Saifuddin [1/51] equally shared two wickets for Bangladesh.


There are three changes in Bangladesh's best eleven from their last two winning combinations with the inclusion of debutant Ariful Haque, Abu Hider and Soumya Sarkar to replace Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mustafizur Rahman.


Bangladesh XI: Liton Das, Imrul Kayes, Ariful Haque (debu), Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicket keeper), Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah Riyad, Abu Hider, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe Mortaza (Captain) and Nazmul Islam.


Zimbabwe best XI: Hamilton Masakadza (captain), Cephas Zhuwao, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Sikandar Raza, Donald Tiripano, Wellington Masakadza, Kyle Jarvis and Richard Ngarava.