Sheikh Russel register heavyweight team

Sports Correspondent

14th October, 2018 10:01:29 printer

Sheikh Russel register heavyweight team

Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) Senior Vice-president Abdus Salam Murshedy, centre left, is seen along Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Director In-charge Ismat Jamil Akand Lavlu, centre right, and footballers during Sheikh Russel KC player registration event at BFF House in the capital on Sunday. — REAZ AHMED SUMON

Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Ltd completed their registration as they listed thirty players for their upcoming Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2018-2019 season during a player registration ceremony at BFF (Bangladesh Football Federation) House in the capital on Sunday.

Sheikh Russel have assembled a heavyweight team for the upcoming edition of BPL. The team will be coached by famous domestic coach Saiful Bari Titu. He has been brought under Sheikh Russel set-up with salary contract which has set a new national record. Titu is also credited for the meteoric rise of Chittagong Abahani in recent times.

Domestic stars of the likes of Md Sohel Rana and experienced Uttom Kumar Bonik are part of the new-look Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra.

The club has registered four overseas players for BPL 2018-2019 along with twenty six local players. A total of 11 players were retained by Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra. Among them, four were retained utilising retention opportunity given by BFF.

Saiful Bari Titu along with his expertise, have also brought in key players from Chittagong Abahani. Five players were roped in by Sheikh Russel from Chittagong Abahani. While two players have been brought from Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited and Bangaldesh Muktijoddha Krira Sangsad.

The treble-winning team will be able to avail an international class support team which will be led by Saiful Bari Titu. Portuguese Francisco Jose Bruto and former Mohammedan Assistant Coach Mohammad Masud Parvez Kaisar will join Sheikh Russel as Assistant Coaches. Kenyan Abdul Iddi Salim will act as the Goalkeeping coach while former Bangladesh National Football Team Physiotherapist Shazib Shams Bakshi will be the physiotherapist of the team.

But the overseas recruits are what make Sheikh Russel a serious contender for the trophy. Their attack line-up will be led by Brazilian Alex Rafael. Alex has been a part of FC Salzburg of Austria and played for Ras Al Khaima of United Arab Emirates in 2017-2018 season. With his experience of playing against European giants Bayer Leverkusen and Lyon, Alex is sure to open a new dimension in Bangladesh’s football.

They have also roped in Raphael Odoyin Onwrebe who was the second highest goal-scorer of BPL 2017-2018 with 15 goals to his name. He will add great value to Sheikh Russel attack. To fill the Asian quota, Titu has chosen Uzbekistan National Team player Azizov Alisher.

Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Squad: Md Asraful Islam Rana, Sabuj Das Raghu, Md Mamun Khan, Md Khalekurzaman, Bishonath Ghosh, Md Sohel Rana, Md Ariful Islam, Md Rashedul Alam Moni, Uttom Kumar Bonik, Md Yeasin Khan, Md Mezbahuddin, Md Sohel Rana jnr, Md Abdullah, Md Elias, Md Torikul Islam Julfekar, Md Aminur Rahman Sojib, Md Rumon Hossain, Biplu Ahmed, Saikat Mahmud Munna, Sajidul Islam, Md Fazley Rabbi, Md Nahidul Islam Nahid, Md Shahedul Alam, Yeamin Ahmed Chowdhury, Farhaduzzaman Babu, Md Jamal Hossain, Raphael Onwrebe, Alison Udoko, Alex Rafael and Azizov Alisher.