Bangladesh to face India in Asia Cup final today

Sun Online Desk

28th September, 2018 08:29:37 printer

Bangladesh to face India in Asia Cup final today


Bangladesh will play the final against India at Dubai International Cricket Stadium today to utilise their third chance to have the maiden title of the six-nation continental tournament after 2016 and 2014 at home.


The match kicks off at 5.30 pm (BST).


Bangladesh reached the final of the 14th Asia Cup defeating Pakistan by 37 runs in a virtual semifinal at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.


Bangladesh missed out on the title twice recently – once in the 50-over Asia Cup in 2012 and the Twenty20 version in 2016, losing to Pakistan and India by two runs and eight wickets respectively.


This will be the third consecutive Asia Cup final for Bangladesh, and  the second time the Tiger are getting India as opponent.


Bangladesh got three win against two losses in this tournament to reach into the final, starting their campaign with a137-run win against Sri Lanka in the tournament opener before upset by 136-runs against Afghanistan in their Group ‘B’ last match.


 Probable squads:


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Mohammad Mithun, Litton Kumar Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman and Abu Haider Rony.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wicket keeper), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey, Siddarth Kaul, KL Rahul and Deepak Chahar.