Dr Debapriya appointed member of UN CDP

Staff Correspondent

26th August, 2018 11:08:25 printer

Dr Debapriya appointed member of UN CDP

UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) has appointed Dr Debapriya Bhattacharya, fellow of Centre for Policy Dialogue (CPD), a member to the UN Committee for Development Policy (CDP) for a three-year term.

His appointment to the 24-member UN body was made in recent session of ECOSOC on recommendation of UN Secretary General António Guterres, CPD said on Sunday.

In his personal capacity, Dr Debapriya will serve as a member of 24-member strong CDP for a three-year term from 2019 to 2021.

Earlier, eminent economists Prof Nurul Islam, Prof Rehman Sobhan and Prof Wahiduddin Mahmud were members to the CDP from Bangladesh.

Established in 1965, the CDP is an independent body under the UN which advises on development cooperation policies in support of the least developed countries (LDCs).

Every three years, the CDP reviews the list of LDCs for inclusion in and graduation from the group.

The current work programme of the CDP also includes rethinking of criteria defining the LDCs and suggesting supportive measures for the graduating LDCs.

The CDP will also be following Bangladesh’s progress in the context of its scheduled graduation in 2024.