ICC adds four teams to ODI rankings | 2018-06-02

ICC adds four teams to ODI rankings

Sun Online Desk

2nd June, 2018 12:32:45 printer

ICC adds four teams to ODI rankings

The International Cricket Council’s ODI team rankings has expanded to 16 teams after the governing body confirmed Friday the additions of four teams-- Scotland, Netherlands, Nepal and the United Arab Emirates.


The new teams join the 12 Test playing nations on the ODI list, which is headed by 2019 World Cup hots England and the ranking will be affected from June 1, said ICC media release.


This elevation means all ODIs these four sides will play against each other on the table hereafter will count towards a team’s rating points and performance in the rankings table.


The Netherlands secured ODI status and a place in the 13-team ODI league by winning the ICC World Cricket League Championship last year, while Scotland, Nepal and the UAE earned ODI status by finishing as the three leading Associates  in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018.


Scotland have been ranked in 13th place on 28 points – 10 points behind 12th ranked Ireland – while the UAE are another 10 points behind on 18 in 14th position.


The Netherlands have 13 rating points and Nepal have 0 ratings point, but they will reflect on the ICC ODI team rankings table after both have played four more ODIs.


Nepal and the Netherlands will qualify for a full ranking after playing four more matches each.


Teams earn points from each match they play against oppositions with an ODI rating.


The positions of the 12 Test playing countries who were already on the table, are not affected by the introduction of these new teams on the table.


ICC ODI Team Rankings as on June 1:

Rank           Team                    Points


1                  England                  125


2                  India                     122


3                  South Africa           113


4                  New Zealand           112


5                  Australia                 104


6                  Pakistan                 102


7                  Bangladesh             93


8                  Sri Lanka                77


9                  West Indies             69


10                Afghanistan            63


11                Zimbabwe               55


12                Ireland                   38


13                Scotland                 28


14                UAE                       18