T20I: Windies, World XI meet at Lord's Thursday

Sun Online Desk

30th May, 2018 10:34:28 printer

T20I: Windies, World XI meet at Lord's Thursday

A galaxy of stars will be seen at Lord’s on Thursday as world T20I champions West Indies will take on World XI to help raise funds for the restoration of five cricket stadia in the Caribbean that were damaged by hurricanes Irma and Maria in 2017.


The match will begin at 5pm [Bangladesh time].


Carlos Brathwaite, who hit Ben Stokes for four successive sixes to win the last ICC World T20I at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens in April 2016, is the captain of the champions West Indies side with having some fantastic T20 talents. 


T20 stars Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis and Badree are the big names in Brathwaite’s line-up, while in Marlon Samuels, Andre


Fletcher, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams and others, there’s a lot of firepower.


Six of those players were part of the XI that won the World T20 2016 final.


Pakistani legendary cricketer Shahid Afridi will lead the ICC World XI side instead of England’s limited-overs leader Eoin Morgan.


Morgan was originally supposed to captain the side, but a broken finger sustained during a One-Day Cup match on May 27 putted him out of action, leading to Afridi being promoted.


Morgan was the first name announced, followed by those of Afridi, his compatriot Shoaib Malik and Sri Lanka T20I captain Thisara Perera. Next came Afghan leg-spin superstar Rashid Khan, Bangladesh’s all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and opener Tamim Iqbal, followed by Indians Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya and New Zealanders Luke Ronchi and Mitchell McClenaghan.


That completed the XI, but Shakib opted out because of personal reasons and was replaced by exciting teenaged Nepal leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane. Pandya has also opted out since then, to be replaced by countrymate Mohammed Shami, who has also been swapped with Tymal Mills, while Sam Billings has filled in for Morgan. English cricketers Adil Rashid and Sam Curran have also been added to make the squad 13-men strong.


ICC World XI: Shahid Afridi (captain), Sam Billings, Sam Curran, Tamim Iqbal, Tymal Mills, Dinesh Karthik, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mitchell McClenaghan, Shoaib Malik, Thisara Perera, Luke Ronchi and Adil Rashid.


West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Samuel Badree, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams.


Source: UNB