13 Dhaka University students get Dean's Award


30th April, 2018 06:20:10 printer

13  Dhaka University students get Dean's Award

Thirteen meritorious students from different departments under the Faculty of Engineering and Technology of Dhaka University (DU) were awarded Dean's Award for their excellent academic results in Bachelor of Science (BSc) examinations for the session 2015-2016.


DU Vice-Chancellor (VC) Professor Dr Md Akhtaruzzaman distributed the awards among the brilliant students at a function held at Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban of the Dhaka University on Monday.


Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Technology of DU Prof Dr Md Hasanuzzaman presided over the function while Pro-Vice Chancellor (Academic) Prof Dr Nasreen Ahmad addressed it as special guest.


Chairpersons of the various departments declared the names of the awardees.


The VC urged the brilliant students to engage themselves with more innovative and creative activities as well as entrepreneurship role to make Bangladesh a prosperous country.


He stressed the need for conducting advanced level research to meet the demands of general people.


"Young generation must equip themselves with non-communal and humanitarian values," Prof Akhtaruzzaman said.


He called upon the students to prepare themselves with the combination of merit, patriotism, truthfulness, gratefulness and honesty.


The awardees are Kajol Chandra Paul, Tahmid Hasan Rupam, Md Samiul Islam, Md Ikramul Haque and Marshia Zaman Shaily of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (EEE) Department, Md Adib Hossain Chisty, Rifat Ara Masud, Md Ashiqur Rahman and Md Mainuddin Khandokar of Applied Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Department, Md Ashraful Islam, Sayanton Vhaduri Dibbo, Sabrina Zaman Ishita and Md Mahfuj Howlader of Computer Science and Engineering Department.


Later, Chairperson of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (EEE) Prof Dr SM Mostafa Al Mamun gave vote of thanks.