U18 football tournament kicks off Thursday

Sun Online Desk

25th April, 2018 09:19:28 printer

U18 football tournament kicks off Thursday

3rd edition of the Under-18 Football Tournament will begin at Bangabandhu National Stadium on Thursday.


On the opening day of the 12-team tournament, Brothers Union face off Saif Sporting Club at 3:00pm while Abahani Ltd taking on Farashganj Sporting Club at 5:00pm.


Mohammedan Sporting Club clinched the first two editions title and will start their campaign in this edition Chittagong Abahani Ltd at the same venue on April 27, reports UNB. 


All the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) participating club teams are taking part in the meet, split into four groups.


Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) Senior Vice-president and BFF Professional Football League Committee Chairman Abdus Salam Murshedy disclosed details during the logo unveiling ceremony of the tournament after a press conference at BFF House on Wednesday.


The age level football tournament of the premier league clubs was first held in 2013, and a 2nd edition followed in 2014. This year’s edition will be the first in four years. 


Teams and Group Standings: 


Group-A: Brothers Union, Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra and Saif SC.


Group-B: Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, Rahmatganj MFS and Team BJMC.   


Group-C: Chittagong Abahani, Arambagh Krira Sangha, Mohammedan SC.


Group-D: Dhaka Abahani, Muktijoddha SKC,   Farashganj SC.