Ashraful hits 3rd successive ton for hapless Kalabagan | 2018-04-01

Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League

Ashraful hits 3rd successive ton for hapless Kalabagan

Sun Online Desk

1st April, 2018 09:35:12 printer

Ashraful hits 3rd successive ton for hapless Kalabagan

Bangladesh national side former captain Mohammad Ashraful completed his mission in this edition Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League with hammering an extraordinary fifth century, but could not stop another loss for Kalabagan Krira Chakra.


Ashraful signed off the league, hitting unbeaten 102* off 137 balls, including 10 boundaries, when his side Kalabagan conceded a six-wicket defeat against Brothers Union in a dead-rubber of the relegation league at Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan Ground 4 in Savar on Sunday.


The day’s ton was Ashraful's third one all in a row, after 103* and 127 in his previous two innings against Agrani Bank Cricket Club and Mohammedan Sporting Club respectively.


Ashraful finished the tournament with 665 runs from 13 matches at a batting average of 66.50. But of his five centuries in the season, only one (102*) brought Kalabagan’s win of five-wicket against Agrani Bank in the 47th match of the 12-team List ‘A’ cricket.


Ashraful hit his first ton (104) against Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club in this edition. He hit 10 centuries in 252 matches in List ‘A’ cricket career. However, he will become eligible for BPL and international selection from August 2018. 


The day’s man of the match Mizanur Rahman struck 115 off 104 balls, featuring 11 boundaries and six over boundaries, which helped Brothers Union reach their target of 253 for 4 in 44.3 overs, replying to a relegated side Kalabagan’s 252 for 3 in 50 overs.


Mizanur Rahman contributed 69 off 11 overs with Junaid Siddique (16) in the first wicket, 49 off 9.2 with Myshukur Rahaman (16) in the second and 58 off 8.3 overs with skipper Alok Kapali (27) in the third wicket.


Mizanur was caught by Riyazul Huda off Jaimul Hasan on 178/4 in 30.3 overs  before Yasir Ali (45* off 49b; 2x4;2x6) and Nazmus Sadat (32 off 39b; 3x4) completed the win with an unbeaten stand of 75* off 14 overs in the 5th wicket.


Jaimul Hasan captured three wickets for 47 runs while Muktar Ali got one conceding 49 runs for Kalabagan.


Ashraful shared 116 off 28 overs with opener Waliul Karim (79 off 95b; 6x4; 5x6) in the 2nd stand and 78 off 14.4 overs with Munim Shahriar (35 off 41b; 3x4; 1x6) in the 3rd wicket before another 53* off 6.3 overs with skipper Faruque Hossain (28* off 22b; 4x4) in the 4th wicket.


Sohrawordi Shuvo got two wickets conceding 53 runs while Khaled Ahmed (1/46) was another wicket taker for Brothers Union.