Rangpur seal playoff spot | 2017-12-04 | daily-sun.com

Rangpur seal playoff spot

Sun Online Desk

4th December, 2017 12:12:03 printer

Rangpur seal playoff spot

Rangpur Riders clinched playoff spot as the fourth team following their 19-run victory over Khulna Titans in the 38th match of AKS BPL 2017 Powered by Shah Cement.


Mahmudullah won the toss and opted to bowl first at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS). Chris Gayle scored 38 and gave a good start to Rangpur Riders. After his departure, it was Mohammad Mithun who carried the Rangpur innings with an unbeaten knock of 50 off 35 balls. Rangpur posted 147 for 6 after 20 overs. Jofra Archer picked up 2 wickets for 28.


In reply Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Michael Klinger gave Khulna Titans a steady start with a 60-run stand. But Rangpur Riders bowlers fought back by picking up couple of wickets in quick-succession. Khulna finally managed to score 128 for 8 in 20 overs and lost the match by 19 runs.


Mohammad Mithun was adjudged man of the match.


Brief Score:


Rangpur Riders: 147/6 in 20 overs (Mithun 50*, Gayle 38, Mashrafe 15*; Archer 2/28, Braithwaite 1/10, Irfan 1/20)


Khulna Titans: 128/7 in 20 overs (Klinger 44, Shanto 20, Archer 19; Bopara 2/4, Nahidul 1/16, Nazmul 1/19)


Result: Rangpur Riders won by 19 runs.


Man of the Match: Mohammad Mithun (Rangpur Riders)