Election Commission invites 71 media personalities for talks


15th August, 2017 06:11:57 printer

Election Commission invites 71 media personalities for talks

Election Commission (EC) has invited 71 senior journalists for holding a two-day dialogue on Wednesday and Thursday seeking their opinions and suggestions regarding the 11th parliamentary polls.

"Two-day dialogue with senior journalists of different print and electronic media will begin at the Election Commission Secretariat at 10 am each day. Thirty four will sit for talks tomorrow while 37 others on August 17 (Thursday)," Director (Public Relation) of EC Secretariat SM Asaduzzaman told BSS on Monday.

He said the discussion will be held as per the EC's roadmap where the amendments to the electoral laws and delimitation of the electoral constituencies, finalizing of flawless voters' list, fixation of voting centers and registration of new political parties would prominently figure the discussion.

Replying to a question, Asaduzzaman said the electioneering plan or road map formulated by the EC will be presented before the media personalities and their opinion will be taken for successful holding of the next general election.

The eminent media personalities who have been invited for tomorrow's dialogue included of the daily Samakal Editor Golam Sarwar, the Daily Star Editor Mahfuz Anam, President of the Jatiya Press Club Shafiqur Rahman, Columnist Abed Khan, the daily News Today Editor Riazuddin Ahmed, the daily Prothom Alo Editor Matiur Rahman, the daily Manab Zamin Editor Motiur Rahman Chowdhury, President of Bangladesh Federal Union of Journalists (BFUJ) and Ekushey Television CEO Mojurul Ahsan Bulbul, BFUJ secretary general Omar Faruk, the daily Amader Arthoniti Editor Naimul Islam Khan, the Bangladesh Pratidin Editor Naim Nizam, Acting Editor of the daily Jugantar Saiful Islam, senior journalist Amanullah Kabir, the daily Kaler Kantha Editor Imdadul Haque Milon, the Daily Bhorer Kagoj Editor Shyamal Dutt. 

The media personalities who were invited in the dialogue on August 17 (Thursday) included: Managing Director and Chief Editor of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) Abul Kalam Azad, chief editor of BDnews24.com Towfiq Imroz Khaledi, Bangalnews24.com Editor Alamgir Hossain, Director General of the Bangladesh Television SM Harun-Ur-Rashid, Director General of the Bangladesh Betar Nasir Uddin Ahmed, the Financial Express Editor Moazzem Hossain and the Director and Head of News of the Channel-I Shaikh Siraj.

Earlier EC held a dialogue with civil society members on July 31 as part of the election roadmap with the expectation that the talks would help hold a free, fair and all-inclusive general election.

Meanwhile, the EC has finalised a seven-point roadmap to hold the next parliamentary polls. As part of the roadmap, the independent constitutional body has lined up several such dialogues with registered political party leaders, election observers, women leaders and election experts.