Govt to set up two more public varsities | 2017-05-19

Govt to set up two more public varsities

Noman Chowdhury

19th May, 2017 12:18:04 printer

Govt to set up two more public varsities

The government will set up two more public universities to create a greater opportunity for specialised higher education in the country.


The two varsities are—Aviation University and Laxmipur Science and Technology University. The location of the Aviation University has not been decided yet.


As part of the move, the education ministry in April asked the University Grants Commission (UGC) to prepare the draft laws of the two varsities. The ministry also informed the UGC that Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has given her consent to set up the varsities.


Sources at UGC told daily sun that the legal cell of the body is preparing the draft law of Laxmipur Science and Technology University while the Public University Division is preparing draft law of Aviation University.


An official concerned said the draft laws are almost complete and they will send those to the education ministry soon.


Apart from these two, the government has already taken initiatives and made draft laws for establishing another four public varsities in different parts of the country. The education ministry has already received the draft laws. After the law ministry’s vetting, the draft laws will be placed as bills in parliament.


These new universities include Sheikh Hasina University in Netrokona, Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib Science and Technology University in Jamalpur, Chandpur University of Science and Technology and Bogra University of Science and Technology.


The parliament has so far passed the bills of 42 public varsities. Of those, 37 are carrying out academic activities and five, including Chittagong Medical University and Rajshahi Medical University, are yet to start functioning.