JS adopts obituary motion

Special Correspondent

7 September, 2020 12:00 AM printer

The Jatiya Sangsad on Sunday unanimously adopted a condolence motion expressing profound grief at the death of former Indian President Pranab Mukherjee along with other personalities including, two incumbent lawmakers of the 11th parliament.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury moved the obituary motion at the deaths of former Indian President, two incumbent lawmakers — Advocate Sahara Khatun and Md Israfil Alam — and other eminent personalities who died since the prorogation of the 8th session of the current parliament.

Leader of the house and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina took part in the discussion.

The house also adopted the obituary motion over the death of two running lawmakers—Advocate Shahara Khatun of Dhaka-18 and Israfil Alam of Naogaon-6 constituency.

Advocate Shahara, former Home and Post and Telecommunication Minister, died on July 9 while she was undergoing treatment at a hospital in Thailand at the age of over 77 years.

A 54-year old Alam died of Covid-19 infection at a city hospital on July 27.

Besides, the house also expressed deep condolence and accepted the obituary references to the death of a number of distinguished political leaders.

These deceased leaders are former ministers and freedom fighter Shahjahan Siraj, Lieutenant Colonel (retd) HMA Gaffar Bir Uttam, Abul Kashem, former State ministers Abdul Mannan and TM Gias Uddin Ahmed, former Whip M Ashraf Hossen, former lawmaker and veteran freedom fighter Azizur Rahman, Prof ANM Nazrul Islam, Sheikh M Nurul Huq, ATM Alamgir, Sultan Uddin Bhuiyan, Dr Shahjahan Ali Talukder, Group Captain (retd) Saiful Azam, Kamruddin Yahia Khan Majlish and Engr Shamsuddin Ahmed.

The obituary reference includes Major General (retd) Chitta Ranjan Dutta who prominently known as CR Dutta, Commander of sector-4 during the Liberation War and President of Bangladesh Hindu Buddhist Christian Unity Council, Lt Col (retd) Abu Osman Chowdhury, commander of sector-8 during the 1971’s Liberation War, former Sylhet City Corporation Mayor Badaruddin Ahmad Kamran, Defense Secretary Abdullah Al Mohsin Chowdhury, former law secretary Abu Saleh Sheikh M Zahirul Haq Dulal, Legislative and parliament affairs division secretary Naren Das, Journalist and Ekushey award recipient Rahat Khan, Feni District Awami League President Advocate Akramuzzaman, Layla Arzumand Banu, wife of Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haq, former Maghura district Mohila Awami League president Begum Monowara Zaman, noted industrialist and Jamuna Group Chairman Nurul Islam Babul, Ekushey Padak recipient and veteran language soldier Dr Sayeed Haider, Ekushey Padak recipient photographer Sayeeda Khanam, National Film Award recipient and noted music maestro Alauddin Ali, noted Singer Andrew Kishor, Sculptor Mrinal Haq, former BTV producer Mohammad Barkatullah and Assistant personal secretary to the President veteran freedom fighter M Abdul Hai who is also younger brother of Incumbent President M Abdul Hamid.

The parliament also expressed condolence over the deaths of several elite personalities in home and abroad including the casualties triggered by air-conditioner blast in the mosque in Narayanganj.

Tragic explosion in the Lebanese capital Bairut and the deaths caused by the plane crash in Indian Kerala state were also remembered during the session.

Former minister Matia Chowdhury, Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan, Railway Minister Nurul Islam Sujon, State Minister for Labour and Employment Mannujan Sufian, State Minister for ICT Zunaid Ahmed Palak, former minister Shahjahan Khan and Deputy Leader of the Opposition in parliament Golam Mohammad Quader, among others, spoke.

Later, the lawmakers observed one-minute silence to the memory of the deceased and also offered munajat seeking the blessings to the almighty Allah.

Lawmakers, including Abdul Matin Khasru, Shahiduzzaman Sarker, opposition chief whip Mashiur Rahman Ranga and BNP lawmaker Harunur Rashid, among others, also spoke on the occasion.