ACC to quiz 6 more AB Bank directors

2 January, 2018 12:00 AM printer

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) summonedon Mondaysix more members of the AB Bank’s Board of Directors for interrogation on money laundering, reports UNB.

ACC Assistant Director (Public Relations) Pranab Kumar Bhattacharya told UNB that the notice has been issued to the chairman of the bankon Monday asking for their appearance before the ACC onJan 7, 2018.

“The directors of AB Bank are - Shishir Ranjan Bose, Mejbahul Haque, Fahimul Haque, Syed Afzal Hasan Uddin, Runa Zakia and Md. Anwar Jamil Siddiqui while one of the clients of bank trader Saiful Haque is also summoned for questioning onJan 4,” said Pranab.

Earlier on December 26, Five other AB Bank’s officials — Mohammad Mahfuz Ul Islam, head of corporate treasury, Mohammad Lokman, head of Offshore Banking Unit, Arif Neaz, OBU at EPZ branch, Mahadeb Sarkar Sumon, company secretary, and MN Azim, who works in financial institutions and treasury section — have also been summoned onJanuary 2.

Earlier, on December 28, the bank’s former chairman M Wahidul Haque and former managing director M Fazlur Rahman were interrogated.

On December 31, the bank’s former Managing Director Shamim Ahmed Chowdhury and the chief of the bank’s Financial Institutions and Treasury branch Abu Hena Mostafa Kamal were also interrogated by ACC.

ACC director Syed Iqbal Hossain and assistant director Gulshan Anwar are investigating the allegation and doing the interrogations.

Wahidul Haque, along with AB Bank’s vice chairman and a director, resigned from the bank’s board of directors on December 21 amid allegations of money laundering by the bank when the bank faces criticism over its alleged laundering of around Tk 165 crore to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) through two shady organisations in the name of investment.

Meanwhile, the ACC imposed a ban on the travel of 12 senior officials of the bank.