81 get back candidacies | 2018-12-07 | daily-sun.com

81 get back candidacies

Staff Correspondent     7 December, 2018 12:00 AM printer

A total 81 candidates from different political parties as well as independent contenders have got back their candidacies for the upcoming parliamentary polls after hearing on their petitions.

The Election Commission, the appellate authority, completed the first day’s hearing on Thursday, disposed of almost all the 160 petitions and kept its decisions pending over few petitions.

On completion of the first day’s hearing, BNP got back their single candidate for four constituencies — Bogura-7, Jamalpur-4, Manikganj-2 and Dhaka-1 -- after the EC allowed the aspirants to take part in the polls.

The EC started its three-day hearing at 10:00am on Thursday over petitions filed against the decision of the returning officers over the rejection and acceptance of nomination papers in different constituencies.

BNP’s valid contestants for the four constituencies are Morshed Milton of Bogura-7, Faridul Kabir Talukder (Shamim) of Jamalpur-4, Abidur Rahman Khan of Manikganj-2 and Khandaker Abu Ashfaq of Dhaka-1.

The ruling Awami League fielded no candidate for 36 constituencies while BNP for five seats in the 11th parliamentary elections slated for December 30.

Those who got back their candidatures with the EC’s order include BNP contestants Tamij Uddin of Dhaka-20 and Major (retd) Akhteruzzaman of Kishoreganj-2, Abdul Majid of Jhenaidah-2,  Mohammad Shahjahan of Patuakhali-3, Abdul Kaiyum Chowdhury of Sylhet-3, Hasadul Islam of Pabna-3, Ainul Haque of Sirajganj-3, Joynal Abedin of Mymensingh-7, AKM Mukhlesur Rahman of Sherpur-2, Selim Bhuiyan of Dhaka-5, Tozammel Haque of Manikganj-1, Ahammad Taibur Rahman of Mymensingh-3, Abu Asif Ahmed of Brahmanbaria-2, Syed Abu Bakar Siddique of Dhaka-14, BNP candidates Abdul Khaleque of Kurigram-3, Nurul Amin of Chattogram-1, Mostafa Kamal Pasha of Chattogram-3, Prof M Yunus of Cumilla-5, Rafiqul Islam of Gaibandha-3, Nazemul Islam Prodhan of Gaibandha-5, Abdullah Al Mamun of Sirajganj-5, Abdul Aziz of Natore-4, MA Muhith of Sirajganj-6, Maj Gen (retd) Monzur Kader of Sirajganj-5, Aminul Haque of Rajshahi-1, Md Hanif of Dinajpur-1, Ershad Ullah of Chattogram-8, SM Shafiqul Alam of Khulna-6 and KM Mujibul Haque of Cumilla-3.

Besides, other valid candidates declared by the EC include Awami League’s Abdul Mannan of Jhenaidah-4, Jatiya Party aspirants Alauddin Mridha of Natore-4, Kamruzzaman Swadhin of Jhenaidah-3, Mahbub Alam and Joynal Abedin of Gazipur-2, Jahirul Islam Mintu of Madaripur-1, Abdullah Al Helal of Brahmanbaria-3,  Mamunur Rashid of Brahmanbaria-5 and Jasmine Noor Baby of Brahmanbaria-6.

The valid candidates also include Gano Forum’s Mahfuzar Rahman of Kurigram-4, LDP’s Niamul Bashir of Chandpur-5, Zaker Party’s Zakir Hossain of Dhaka-14, Shah Alam of Kurigram-4, Mustafa Selim of Rangpur-4, Tajul Islam of Cumilla-11, Sayeduzzaman of Jashore-6 and Mohammad Foysal Bin Shafique of Bogura-6, NPP’s Sumon Sanyamat of Patuakhali-1, Bangladesh Islami Front’s Sulaiman Khan Rabbani of Habiganj-4 and Jubair Ahmed of Habiganj-1, Islami Oikyajot’s Shah Alam of Cumilla-5, JSD (Rob) candidates Fakir Shawkat Ali of Narail-2, Afsar Ali of Satkhira-2, Bangladesh Muslim League’s Shafiqul Islam of Bogura-2, Islami Andolan Bangladesh’s Abdur Rahman of Sirajganj-4 and Syed Anwar Ahammad Liton of Brahmanbaria-3, and Muslim League’s Habibur Rahman of Sirajganj-6 and Anisur Rahman of Chattogram-10.

Besides, the remaining valid ones are independent candidates Yunus Ali of Kurigram-4 and Asaduzzaman of Rangpur-1, Jahirul Islam of Chattogram-16, Abu Zafar of Gaibandha-3, Abdur Rauf Mondal of Bogura-5, Anisuzzaman of Barishal-2, Abu Bakar Siddique of Mymensingh-2, Foyzul Munir Chowdhury of Sylhet-5, Mokhlesur Rahman and Ashraf Uddin of Brahmanbaria-2 and Mahbub Alam of Lakshmipur-1

The EC kept its decisions pending over the four candidatures. The four candidates include independent Iman Ali (Kurigram-4) and BNP’s Shamsul Alam (Chattogram-9).

Besides, the commission rejected two petitions filed challenging the validity of two candidatures for Dinajpur-4 and Nilphamari-4.

The commission rejected some 75 petitions filed to get back their candidatures.

The EC will dispose of 150 petitions on Friday and the remaining 233 will be sorted out on Saturday.

A total of 543 petitions were filed with the Election Commission in the stipulated three days till Wednesday challenging the decisions of returning officers over the rejection and acceptance of nomination papers submitted by aspirants to contest the next national election slated for December 30.