Sri Lanka A sink Bangladesh A | 2018-07-20 |

Sri Lanka A sink Bangladesh A

Sports Correspondent     20 July, 2018 12:00 AM printer

Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera led from the front with a blazing batting display to help his side Sri Lanka A to register a comprehensive 67-run win against Bangladesh A in the second  unofficial ODI at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Thursday.

The home side, who were chasing 276 for victory, were bowled out for 208 in 44.3 overs with Al-Amin top-scoring 46 off 65 balls.

Left arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara, who played two Tests and as same Tests for Sri Lanka national team, claimed three wickets while off-spinner Nishan Peiris bagged three wickets to choke the Bangladeshi run chase.

Bangladesh lost struggling opener Soumya Sarkar early in the second over but young duo Saif Hasan and Zakir Hasan responded well with a 53-run stand for the second wicket until Zakir was hold in deep for 32.

From that point, it was all downhill for the Bangladesh. Al-Amin kept the runs ticking as much as he could but his partners kept disappearing at the other end.

Medium pacer Shanaka finally brought an end Al-Amin’s innings in the 33rd over. Malinda Pushpakumara removed Ariful (27) in the 43rd over which effectively closed Bangladesh’s slim chances to win the match.

Sent to bowl first, Bangladesh bowlers removed seven Lankans batsmen inside 129 runs, but Sri Lanka rode on blistering century from their skipper Perera (111) to put up a challenging score against a disciplined bowling attack.

The visitors’ score were also boosted by a late flurry by Shehan Madushanka who added 33 off 36 balls.

The player of the match Perera’s knock came off just 88 balls as he punished the bowlers with nine fours and five sixes. He did not spare a single Bangladeshi bowler as it rained boundaries when he was batting in full flow.

Pushpakumara’s contribution was only 8 and he was reduced to a spectator at the other end when he paired up with Perera for a 77-run partnership.

Bangladeshi off-spinner Nayeem Hasan bagged three wickets for 42 while left arm spinner Sunzamul Islam and pacer Shariful took two wickets each.