Polls in Sylhet, Barishal, Rajshahi cities July 30 | 2018-06-14 | daily-sun.com

Polls in Sylhet, Barishal, Rajshahi cities July 30

Last date for filing nominations June 28

Staff Correspondent     14 June, 2018 12:00 AM printer

Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday announced that elections to Sylhet, Barishal and Rajshahi city corporations would be held on July 30.

EC secretary Helaluddin Ahmed announced the key deadlines for polls in the three city corporations at Nirbachan Bhaban in the capital.

On May 29, chief election commissioner (CEC) KM Nurul Huda declared the election schedule for the three cities, but he said that his announcement would come into effect through issuance of a gazette notification on June 13.

As per the election schedule, mayoral polls in the cities will be held on July 30. The last date for filing nominations is June 28 and the candidates can withdraw their nomination papers by July 9.

The nomination papers will be scrutinised on July 1 and 2.     

The tenures of three city corporations will expire in October this year. Tenure of Rajshahi City Corporation will expire on October 5 and that of Sylhet on October 8 and Barishal on October 24.

The electoral law stipulates that elections to the city corporations must be held within six months before expiry of tenure of the local body.

While announcing polls schedule, the EC secretary said that the regional election officials of Barishal, Rajshahi and Sylhet had been appointed as returning officers.

“Ten officials were appointed as assistant returning officers each in Rajshahi and Barishal while nine in Sylhet.

“After scrutiny of nomination papers, the assistant divisional commissioner will work as appeal authority of the polls,” he said. 

He also said that no decision had been taken regarding usage of Electronic

Voting Machine (EVM).

“But, there is a plan for using EVM in three city polls. EVM will be used at six centres in Gazipur city polls on June 28,” he added.