Exercise ‘Shanti Doot-4’ begins tomorrow | 2018-02-25 | daily-sun.com

Exercise ‘Shanti Doot-4’ begins tomorrow

Staff Correspondent     25 February, 2018 12:00 AM printer

A two-week multi-national exercise on United Nations Peace Operations titled ‘Exercise Shanti Doot-4’ will begin at Bangladesh Institute of Peace Support Operation Training (BIPSOT) in Gazipur on February 26.

The exercise will be hosted by Bangladesh in cooperation with the United States Pacific Command (USPACOM) as cosponsor under the Global Peace Operations Initiative (GPOI) programme.

Md Tofayel Ahmed, Chief Instructor at BIPSOT, informed the matter to media at a press conference at ISPR office.

Maj Cassandra Gesceki, Co-director of GPOI, Lt Col Mohammad Rashidul Hasan, Director of ISPR, were also present during the conference.

Each year this ‘Multi-national Peacekeeping Event (MPE)’ is conducted by the USPACOM in various countries of Asia-Pacific region, and BIPSOT was honoured to host such events in 2002, 2008 and 2012.

Shanti Doot-4 is aimed at ensuring tactical proficiency and technical competence of leaders and soldiers for supporting a unit’s Mission Essential Tasks List in UN peacekeeping mission. The goals and objectives of Shanti Doot-4 are to increase participants’ interoperability and peacekeeping skills prior to deployment in UN missions.

Shanti Doot-4 is focused on preparing militaries from many countries to participate in United Nations peacekeeping missions around the world.

The exercise is featured with three broad aspects - Field Training Event (FTE), Staff Training Event (STE) and Critical Enabler Capability Enhancement (2CE).

Besides, a day-long Strategic Level Seminar as side-line event titled ‘Changing Role of UN Peacekeeping Operations Challenges and Opportunities’ is also planned on 27 February.

Approximately 1319 participants from 22 different countries across the globe namely Australia, Bangladesh, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, Fiji, Ghana, Great Britain, Indonesia, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Philippines, Peru, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Korea, Sri Lanka, USA and Vietnam will participate.