Farashganj relegated to BCL | 2018-01-14 | daily-sun.com

Curtain Closes on BPL football

Farashganj relegated to BCL

Sports Correspondent     14 January, 2018 12:00 AM printer

Farashganj relegated to BCL

Players of Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Ltd and Arambagh Krira Sangha are seen in their Bangladesh Premier League match at Bangabandhu National Stadium in the capital on Saturday. - bff PHOTO

The tenth edition of Bangladesh Premier League closed down its curtain on Saturday after 170 days of professional football matches. The league began on July 27, 2017 and after 22 rounds of matches among 12 teams, ended on January 13, 2017.

In the final day of the season, two matches were held at Bangabandhu National Stadium in the capital. In the first match, Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society defeated Saif Sporting Club Ltd by 2-0 goals to move out of the relegation zone while Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Ltd and Arambagh Krira Sangha played out a goalless drawn match to complete the season.

Rahmatganj’s victory made it certain for Farashganj Sporting Club Ltd to get relegated to second division football – Bangladesh Championship League. BCL 2017 champions Bashundhara Kings will replace Farashganj in the 12-team BPL 2018-19 season.

The bottom ranked Farashganj won only four matches, earned draw on five occasions and lost the remaining 13 matches of the 22 matches they played in the league.

In the day’s first match, Rahmatganj entered the ground with a near impossible mission – to beat fourth placed Saif Sporting to survive for next season. Their determination and willpower awarded them the first goal early in second minute of play. Rahmatganj forward Naimur Rahman Shahed scored the first goal of the match.

Their second goal came after 31 minutes of their first goal. Rahmatganj’s Gambian forward Dawda Ceesay assisted teammate midfielder Sohel Rana to double their lead.

In contrast, Saif Sporting Club Ltd were not as aggressive and it looked like they are playing to maintain the formalities of the last day of the league.

The season’s final clash between Sheikh Russel and Arambagh was not as exciting as their previous matches and ended goalless where both teams got one point each. With the final whistle from the referee, the BPL football of the season bade adieu from the spectators.

Previous edition champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd also clinched the title of this season which is their sixth BPL crown. Lt Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Cub Ltd missed to surpass Dhaka Abahani by few points and completed the season as the runners-up.