West Indies post 331 as Hope, Roston hit fifties | 2018-12-06 | daily-sun.com

West Indies post 331 as Hope, Roston hit fifties

Sun Online Desk     6th December, 2018 02:27:27 printer

West Indies post 331 as Hope, Roston hit fifties

The visiting West Indies set a big challenge for Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) XI team in the 50-over practice game by posting 331 runs at Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Prothishthan (BSKP) ground in Savar on Thursday after winning the toss.


This is the only practice game before the three-match one-day series scheduled to be played from 9 December.


The visitors posted 331 runs on the board for 8 wickets in 50 overs where Shai Hope smashed 81 off 84 balls with six fours and three sixes and Roston Chase struck 65 off 51 balls with six fours and a six.


Rubel Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Rana and Nazmul Islam Apu scalped two wickets each and the other two wickets were taken by Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Shamim Patwary.


BCB announced a strong squad for this match by including Mashrafe Mortaza and Tamim Iqbal.  Six other players from the current Bangladesh side are also participating in the match. Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, the one-day captain of the Bangladesh senior side, is leading BCB XI.


Mashrafe played his last international match during the Zimbabwe series while Tamim was out of action after his unfortunate exit from the Asia Cup opener following a nasty blow on his left wrist by a bouncer of Sri Lanka’s Suranga Lakmal.


Since then the left-handed opener was recovering, but before the Test series against West Indies, he got a side strain that further delayed his comeback. After recovering from both injuries, Tamim is now fit to play.


Rovman Powell, the right-handed explosive batsman, will lead Windies in the practice as well as will lead the visiting side in one-dayers.


BCB XI: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Towhid Hridoy, Ariful Haque, Akbar Ali, Rubel Hossain, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Shahin Alam, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Nazmul Islam Apu


West Indies: Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell (c), Darren Bravo, Shai Hope(w), Marlon Samuels, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Fabian Allen, Keemo Paul, Sunil Ambris, Carlos Brathwaite, Kemar Roach, Devendra Bishoo, Oshane Thomas, Chandrapaul Hemraj