Bangladesh squad for SAFF Suzuki Cup announced sans captain | 2018-09-03 |

Bangladesh squad for SAFF Suzuki Cup announced sans captain

Sun Online Desk     3rd September, 2018 06:43:16 printer

Bangladesh squad for SAFF Suzuki Cup announced sans captain

Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) on Monday announced a 20-member final squad of the Bangladesh National Football team for the 12th SAFF Suzuki Cup'2018 beginning on Tuesday (Sept 4) at the country's premier sports venue--Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka.


But the name of Bangladesh captain was not disclosed at the function. Bangladesh Head Coach Jamie Day gave a clarification on the issue saying, "every players of the Bangladesh team is our captain, and we may choose different captain for the different matches," reports UNB.


Hosts Bangladesh, which was placed in Group A of the biggest soccer festival of the region (SAFF Championship) with Bhutan, Nepal and Pakistan, will play Bhutan in the 2nd match on the opening day (Tuesday) at 7 pm in a hope to take revenge of their 1-3 goals defeat against Bhutan in Thimphu in 2016.


Pakistan, which returned to the international football after four years for local and FIFA ban, will play Nepal in the opening match on Tuesday at 4 pm at the same venue.


Holders India, the Maldives and Sri Lanka were placed in Group of the seven-nation meet.


The BFF announced the Bangladesh squad making one change in Jamie Day's 20-member team to comply with the SAFF rules including 3rd goal keeper Anisur Rahman in the team dropping Rabiul Hasan in the dying moment.


Earlier on Saturday, Jamie Day finalized a 20-member Bangladesh squad for the ensuing SAFF Championship after conducting a four month long training camp in home and aboard and informed it to the players on the day.


Nine players -Zafor Iqbal, Motin Mia, Rahmat Mia, Abdullah, Anisur Rahman, Majurur Rahman, Mahfuz Hasan Pritom, Fazle Rabbi and Rabiuil Hasan -were excluded from the previous squad while former national skipper Mamunul Islam Mamun, Waly Faisal, Faisal Mahmud, Shahkawat Ronny, Emon Mahmud, Sohel Rana and Nasiruddin Chowdhury are considered in the team as senior players.


Bangladesh squad: Ashraful Islam Rana, Shahidul Alam Sohel, Anisur Rahman, Topu Barman, Nasiruddin Chowdhury, Bishwanath Ghosh, Tutul Hossain Badsha, Waly Faisal, Susanta Tripura, Masuk Miah Zony, Mamunul Islam Mamun, Emon Mahmud Babu, Faisalo Mahmud, Sohel Rana, Biplu Ahmed, Atiqul Islam Fahad, Jamal Bhuiyan, Shahkawat Hossain Rony, Mahbubur Rahman Sufil and Saaduddin.