Bangladesh girls’ become runners-up conceding defeat to India by 1-0 | 2018-08-18 |

Bangladesh girls’ become runners-up conceding defeat to India by 1-0

Sun Online Desk     18th August, 2018 09:09:34 printer

Bangladesh girls’ become runners-up conceding defeat to India by 1-0

Bangladesh U-15 girls’ footballer stormed into final conceding not a single goal and scoring 22 goals from three matches. But the only goal they conceded today (Saturday) against India make them defeated by 1-0.


The final match of the six-nation SAFF Under-15 Women’s Championship between Bangladesh and India kicked off at 7pm Bangladesh time at Changlimithan Stadium in Thimphu, Bhutan.    


This time, India take revenge of their 0-1 loss at Birshrestha Shaheed Sepoy Mohammad Mostafa Kamal Stadium in Dhaka in December 2017.


This was the first defeat of the Bangladesh girls after seven consecutive victories in both the editions of the SAFF U-15 Women's Championship without conceding any goal.


In the first edition held in Dhaka in 2017, Bangladesh beat India twice -- 1-0 in the final and by 3-0 in the group stage -- after outplaying Bhutan by 3-0 and Nepal by 6-0 goals to be the champions of the inaugural meet.


Sunita Munda scored the match winner for India in the 66th minute of the final with a running shot from the goalmouth melee, utilising a right wing corner kick (1-0).


Bangladesh came close to level the margin in the 76th minute but a long-distance shot of Monika Chakma bounced back hitting the crossbar.


High-flying Bangladesh, which stormed the final with all-win record and keeping their post intact beating hosts Bhutan by 5-0 goals in the 2ndsemifinal, failed to exhibit an eye-catching show in the final against physically superior India.


Bangladesh were found off-coloured and nervous and they made a series of miss-passes that cost them dearly despite a flying start in the tournament.


Earlier, Bangladesh emerged Group B champions to reach the semifinal outplaying Nepal by 3-0 goals after a stunning start of 14-0 win against Pakistan.


India reached the final, having a 2-1 win against Nepal in the first semifinal being Group A champions beating Bhutan by 1-0 goal after an emphatic 12-0 win against Sri Lanka.