BCL 5th round: South Zone, Central Zone play out draw | 2018-04-20 | daily-sun.com

BCL 5th round: South Zone, Central Zone play out draw

Sun Online Desk     20th April, 2018 10:08:39 printer

BCL 5th round: South Zone, Central Zone play out draw

Second slot holders Prime Bank South Zone played out a draw against bottom-run Walton Central Zone in the 5th round of the Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL), which ended on day four at Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi on Friday.


On the final day, South Zone -- having 191 runs in the 1st innings -- resumed the 2nd innings with overnight score of 348/6 in 83 overs and declared the innings pilling up 484/8-d in 108.3 overs where overnight batsman Mosaddek Hossain completed unbeaten century of 102 off 107 balls, including 10 boundaries and four sixes.


Number-nine batsman Nayeem Hasan (43 off 62b; 7x4) was another notable scorer on the final day while another overnight batsman Ziaur Rahman was out for 25 runs.


Mosharraf Hossain (3/110), Tanbir Hayder (2/85), Abu Hider (2/80) and Ebadat Hossain (1/101) were the wicket takers in the innings for Central Zone.


Having 302 runs in the 1st innings, Central Zone opened the 2nd innings and scored 158/5 in 55 overs before the bails were drawn for the final day. 


Number-three batsman Abdul Mazid (60* off 110b; 5x4; 2x6) and opener Saif Hassan (43 off 97b; 4x4; 2x6) were the notable scorers for the side on the day.


Country’s veteran spinner Abdur Razzak, who captured 6 wickets for 106 runs in the 1st innings for his side, claimed three wickets for 73 runs in the 2nd innings and was adjudged man of the match.


Kamrul Islam Rabbi (1/28) and Nayeem Hasan (1/53) shared two wickets for South Zone.


Brief Score


Prime Bank South Zone 1st innings: 191/10 in 49.5 overs; Fazle Mahmud 40, Nurul Hasan 28, Mosaddek Hossain 21*; Ebadat Hossain 4/32, Mosharraf Hossain 4/ 57, Salauddin Sakil 2/50.


Prime Bank South Zone 2nd innings: 484/8-d in 108.3 overs (overnight 348/6 in 83 overs); Mohammad Mithun 118, Mosaddek Hossain 102*, Tushar Imran 88, Anamul Haque 45, Nayeem Hasan 43, Ziaur Rahman 25; Mosharraf Hossain 3/110, Tanbir Hayder 2/85, Abu Hider 2/80, Ebadat Hossain 1/101.


Walton Central Zone 1st innings: 302/10 in 88.3 overs; Shadman Islam 93, Irfan Sukkur 54, Abdul Mazid 44; Abdur Razzak 6/106, Nayeem Hasan 3/83.


Walton Central Zone 2nd innings: 158/5 in 55 overs; Abdul Mazid 60*, Saif Hassan 43; Abdur Razzak 3/73, Kamrul Islam Rabbi 1/28, Nayeem Hasan 1/53.


Source: UNB