JP candidate Shamim wins Gaibandha-1 by polls | 2018-03-14 |

JP candidate Shamim wins Gaibandha-1 by polls

Sun Online Desk     14th March, 2018 02:30:59 printer

JP candidate Shamim wins Gaibandha-1 by polls

Jatiya Party candidate Barrister Shamim Haidar Patwary was unofficially declared the winner of the by-polls for the Gaibandha-1 constituency on Tuesday.


As per the results announced, Shamim bagged 78,926 votes while his nearest Awami League candidate Afruza Bari secured 68,913 votes, said returning officer GM Sahatabuddin.


Earlier, the voting started at 8am amid tight security and continued until 4pm without any break at 109 polling stations for a total of 338,000 voters.


Elite force Rapid Action Battalion, Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB), police and Ansar were remained deployed at polling centres to ensure holding of the polls peacefully.


The seat fell vacant following the death of Gaibandha-1 MP Golam Mostafa on December 19 from his injuries he suffered in a road accident a month earlier.


Earlier on March 22, 2017, another by-election was held in the constituency which fell vacant following the murder of ruling Awami League lawmaker Manzurul Islam Liton in December, 2016.