India beat Sri Lanka by 6-wkt in Nidahas Trophy | 2018-03-13 |

India beat Sri Lanka by 6-wkt in Nidahas Trophy

AFP     13th March, 2018 01:26:17 printer

India beat Sri Lanka by 6-wkt in Nidahas Trophy

Paceman Shardul Thakur picked four key wickets to set up a comfortable six-wicket win for India in a tri-series Twenty20 international against Sri Lanka on Monday.


The 26-year-old Thakur, playing his fifth T20 international, impressed with his pace and guile to help India dismiss the hosts for 152-9.


In reply, India coasted to the target with nine balls to spare, thanks to a fine 42 off 31 balls by Manish Pandey and a 39-run knock by Dinesh Karthik.


India appeared in trouble at 85-4 but Pandey and Karthik batted sensibly, adding 68 runs for the unbroken fifth wicket.


The match was reduced to 19-overs a side after the start was delayed by about an hour due to rains and a wet outfield.


Earlier Kusal Mendis hit a quickfire half-century to ensure Sri Lanka a competitive total on the board.


The opener hit three fours and as many sixes in his 38-ball knock at the R. Premadasa stadium.


Mendis though got little support from the other batsmen as the hosts kept losing wickets at regular intervals.


Thakur, who was named man of the match, bagged four wickets for 27 runs off his four overs.


Upcoming off-spinner Washington Sundar took two wickets as the India bowlers fought back after a sloppy first 10 overs.


India made one change to the side that won against Bangladesh on Thursday, bringing in batsman K.L. Rahul in place of Rishabh Pant.


Sri Lanka picked Suranga Lakmal in place of captain Dinesh Chandimal who has been suspended for two games due to an over-rate offence.


The win propelled India into contention for a place in the final of the tournament that has Bangladesh as the third team.


The next match will be played between India and Bangladesh on Wednesday with the final slated for Sunday.


Scoreboard of the tri-nation Twenty20 international between Sri Lanka and India in Colombo on Monday:


Sri Lanka:

D. Gunathilaka c Raina b Thakur 17


K. Mendis c Sharma b Chahal 55


K. Perera b Sundar 3


U. Tharanga b Shankar 22


T. Perera c Chahal b Thakur 15


J. Mendis b Sundar 1


D. Shanaka c Karthik b Thakur 19


A. Dhananjaya c Rahul b Unadkat 5


S. Lakmal not out 5


D. Chameera c Unadkat b Thakur 0


N. Pradeep not out 0


Extras (lb1, nb1, w8) 10


Total (for 9 wkts; 19 overs) 152


Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Gunathilaka), 2-34 (K. Perera), 3-96 (Tharanga), 4-113 (T. Perera), 5-118 (J. Mendis), 6-120 (K. Mendis), 7-146 (Dananjaya), 8-151 (Shanaka), 9-151 (Chameera)


Bowling: Unadkat 3-0-33-1, Sundar 4-0-21-2, Thakur 4-0-27-4, Chahal 4-0-34-1, Shankar 3-0-30-1, Raina 1-0-6-0



India (target 153)


R. Sharma c K. Mendis b Dananjaya 11


S. Dhawan c T. Perera b Dananjaya 8


K.L. Rahul hit wicket b J. Mendis 18


S. Raina c T. Perera b Pradeep 27


M. Pandey not out 42


D. Karthik not out 39


Extras (lb1, w7) 8


Total (for 4 wkts; 17.3 overs) 153


Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Sharma), 2-22 (Dhawan), 3-62 (Raina), 4-85 (Rahul)


Did not bat: V. Shankar, W. Sundar, S. Thakur, J. Unadkat, Y. Chahal


Bowling: Lakmal 2-0-19-0, Dananjaya 4-0-19-2, Chameera 3-0-33-0, Pradeep 2.3-0-30-1, J. Mendis 4-0-34-1, T. Perera 2-0-17-0


Toss: India


Result: India won by six wickets


Umpires: Ranmore Martinesz (SRI), Lyndon Hannibal (SRI)


TV Umpire: Raveendra Wimalasiri (SRI)


Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)