6 get Bangladesh Press Council Award | 2018-02-18 | daily-sun.com

6 get Bangladesh Press Council Award

Sun Online Desk     18th February, 2018 09:54:56 printer

6 get Bangladesh Press Council Award


Five journalists and one organisation have been given the Bangladesh Press Council Award-2018 in six categories.


President Md Abdul Hamid formally handed over the awards at a programme at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium on Sunday afternoon.


Renowned journalist, columnist and writer Abdul Gaffar Chowdhury has been given the award in the ‘lifetime achievement journalism category’ while special correspondent of the Daily Samakal Rajib Nur in ‘rural journalism category’, senior reporter of the Daily Janakantha Rajan Bhattacharya in ‘development journalism category’ and chief reporter of the daily Barisal Samoy Morjina Begum got the award in ‘women journalism category’, reports UNB. 


The Daily Sangbad has been awarded in the ‘institution category’ while photojournalist of Amader Shomoy Al Amin Leon in the ‘photography category’.


Among others, Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu, State Minister for Information Tarana Halim, Bangladesh Press Council Chairman Justice M Mamtaz Uddin Ahmed, Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Information Ministry AKM Rahmatullah, acting Information Secretary Md Nasir Uddin Ahmed, Chairman of the Jury Board that chose the awardees Golam Sarwar and member of Bangladesh Press Council Monjurul Ahsan Bulbul were present.