Tigers face Sri Lanka in 2nd T20I Sunday eying win | 2018-02-17 | daily-sun.com

Tigers face Sri Lanka in 2nd T20I Sunday eying win

Sun Online Desk     17th February, 2018 08:34:51 printer

Tigers face Sri Lanka in 2nd T20I Sunday eying win

Bangladesh will face visiting Sri Lanka in the second and last match of the T20I series at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Sunday, eying a win to level the series. 


The day-night match will kick off at 5pm local time when Sri Lanka will seek a clean sweep after a six-wicket victory in the 1st match in Dhaka on Thursday, 


It has been a fruitful time for Sri Lanka in Bangladesh clinching the triangular ODI series also involving Zimbabwe and two-match Test series before the T20I series. The Tigers have one the last chance to bring it all together to make sure Sri Lanka do not home with all the trophies on offer.


Bangladesh stand-in captain Mahmudullah Riyad, in the absence of regular captain Shakib Al Hasan, will have to play a big role in lifting the Tigers, who lost both the ODI tri-series and the Tests to Sri Lanka. 


Mahmudullah expressed his hope to fight back in the last match as he said, “I hope we’ll turn back in the final match.” He was expecting the availability of Tamim Iqbal in the match, recovering his injury, while speaking at a pre-match press conference at the match venue on Saturday, reports UNB.   

Sri Lankan coach Chandika Haturasingha said, “Although it took time to turn back, boys took the challenges on their tour in a great way.”     

The first T20I was a run feast at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on Thursday where Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bat first to post 193/5 in 20 overs with half-centuries by Soumya Sarkar and Mushfiqur Rahim, and 43 from Mahmudullah Riyad. 


On another day, it might have been enough, but with Kusal Mendis (53), Danushka Gunathilaka (30), Dasun Shanaka (42*) and Thisara Perera (39*) spurred Sri Lanka overhaul the target, they did so with 20 balls in hand for the 1-0 lead. 


However, the pretty hill station of Sylhet has not always been on the itinerary of touring teams, hosting just six T20Is over the years, all of them in the group stages of the ICC World Twenty20 in 2014. There were good runs scored in Sylhet during the Bangladesh Premier League 2017, and the locals, who have never had the national team in their neck of the woods before, will hope for a spot of entertainment from their heroes. It should be a cool evening with clear skies, with the temperature expected to hover around 20°C.


In their previous eight T20I encounters, Bangladesh secured two victories against Sri Lanka who won the remaining six matches.   


Bangladesh squad: Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarker, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jayed Rahi, Ariful Hoque, Mehedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain, Nazmul Islam Apu and Mohammed Mithun.


Sri Lanka squad: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Amila Aponso, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Asitha Fernando, Danushka Gunathilaka, Shehan Madushanka, Jeevan Mendis, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Upul Tharanga, Isuru Udana and Jeffrey Vandersay.